Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

FRIDAY FIVE Aug 1 / The C Word

Friday, Aug. 01, 2003 - 10:27 a.m.

A couple of people have written to me and asked why I don't say more about my husband John in Diaryland. The answer is simple: John doesn't want me to.

I've mentioned him before -- but after the second or third time of me hearing "Oh, geez, did you HAVE to tell everybody about THAT?", we sat down and had a talk. His original offer was to let me write whatever I wanted about him -- and then submit it to him for approval. When I met his offer with the phrase "You're kidding me, right? Tell me you're kidding," we then realized that the optimal solution was for me to simply not mention him. In effect, he's become the oldest Osbourne kid, the one that moved out before the series began filming.

There are many interesting things that he says that would probably provide fodder for discussion, but he's less inclined to show his warts to strangers than I am, so that's why he's only mentioned in the most peripheral of terms. It's the way he likes it. :)

---

This week's Friday Five: (Questions are boldface, my answers appear beneath.)

What time do you wake up on weekday mornings?

A: I am a night person, so the last things I do before going to sleep on weekday mornings are make my husband's brownbag lunch, make a Diaryland entry, and review the previous day's stats to see how many hits I got, and which banners are getting the best clickthroughs. But in answer to your question, my 'morning' generally begins around three in the afternoon and lasts until eight or nine the next morning.

Do you sleep in on the weekends? How late?

A: No, my sleep patterns don't change, unless there's weekend honeydos to take care of, then ironically enough, I get up earlier.

Aside from waking up, what is the first thing you do in the morning?

A: Pee.

How long does it take to get ready for your day?

A: Approximately thirty minutes from start to finish; less time if I don't dither around with my hair too much.

When possible, what is your favorite place to go for breakfast?

A: My own kitchen, especially since I learned to make waffles from scratch. Although, I still get nostalgic for this one little place up in Idaho I used to go to that made what I refer to as the World's Deadliest Breakfast: A turkey platter full of hashbrowns -- served with brown gravy that was full of onions. For $1.99. This food forced you to keep moving, because if you didn't, you would go back to sleep.

---

Okay. Now, if you wanna play Friday Five, go here.

---

PREDICTION: Arnold Schwarzenegger is going to go ahead and run for Governor of California. He's notorious for taking a long time to make up his mind about doing something. But according to a friend who works at our state capital, he's been doing his homework for this particular position since the summer of 1996. He'll announce before the deadline, August 9th.

The bumperstickers will be fun -- "Dear Minnesota: Our Governor Can Beat Up Your Governor."

---

Now, I beg your indulgence. Please allow me to express this sentiment about a story that is currently in the headlines. If you're new here, I -strongly- advise you to go to the upper left corner and read my first entry to gain a deeper understanding of the feelings I'm expressing to this person.

Here's an excerpt of the story:

THORNTOWN, Ind. (AP) - A woman who authorities said called the parents of a missing girl and claimed to be their long-lost daughter was charged Wednesday with committing a cruel hoax.

Donna L. Walker, 35, of Topeka, Kan., faces a felony charge of identity deception and a misdemeanor charge of false reporting. Her whereabouts were not known on Wednesday, authorities said. Walker called the parents of Shannon Marie Sherrill and also is believed to have contacted news organizations to spread word about the possible break in the case, Bursten said. He described her actions as a "cruel hoax."

Six-year-old Shannon vanished Oct. 5, 1986, as she played hide-and-seek outside her mother's mobile home in Thorntown, about 30 miles northwest of Indianapolis. Her father, William Michael Sherrill, broke down in tears during a news conference Wednesday announcing that the call was a hoax. "I wasn't expecting this at all," said Sherrill, who learned about the hoax about 15 minutes before the news conference. "I thought they were going to bring Shannon in here."

The identity deception charge carries a maximum sentence of three years in prison, Boone County Prosecutor Todd Meyer said. "I am very disappointed the case has taken this turn," Meyer said. "The case I want to prosecute was the case of an abductor and the happy ending is the child coming home. Unfortunately that's not the closing argument I get to make."

Dear Donna:

Eat shit in Hell on a paper plate with a plastic spoon, you worthless, cum-gargling cunt.

Thank you.

---

Okay, I'm done now. Have a lovely day.

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.