Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

Thorns of All Kinds

Thursday, May. 13, 2004 - 8:14 a.m.

The Carol Burnett Show special was wonderful last night.

It was so nice to just be able to sit down and enjoy an hour of television as if a bunch of old friends were in the room with me.

When I was a child, the Carol Burnett Show was an island of sanity for me in my weird household, and sometimes I don't know what I would do if I hadn't been able to set my preadolescent woes aside and just simply get lost in an hour of quality television every week.

One of my goals that I'd like to achieve by the time I'm 40, or at least during my 40th year, is to appear on stage as a standup comedienne.

Carol's fault. Neener neener.

---

My favorite new group, Keane, has a website, so please go poke around there. And if you don't already have the enhanced single of their song 'Somewhere Only We Know', go get it, please.

---

I had fun in Google yesterday.

Among the items I found was a Cherokee Traveler's Blessing on the Cherokees of California website:

I will draw thorns from your feet.
We will walk the White Path of Life together.
Like a brother of my own blood, I will love you.
I will wipe tears from your eyes.
When you are sad, I will put your aching heart to rest.

Pretty, huh?...

---

And finally, ...

Miramax Films chiefs Bob and Harvey Weinstein plan to buy back Michael Moore's "Fahrenheit 9-11" - which Walt Disney Co. blocked Miramax from releasing - and distribute it themselves.

Under the deal, the brothers, who have a thorny relationship with parent company Disney, would not be able to distribute the movie through Miramax. They would have to find a third-party company.

Moore's film criticizes President Bush's handling of the Sept. 11 terrorist attacks and connects the Bush family with Osama bin Laden's.

No surprise here.

This happened once before, in 1999, with a cerebral and critically-acclaimed movie called DOGMA. Disney declined distribution through Miramax, so Kevin Smith took it to Lion's Gate instead.

Disney would rather deal with movies having to do with cows and fishes.

What a bunch of wussies. Yes, Michael Moore is out there in Left Wing Land. But Disney can't possibly not have known this. Michael Moore has been a thorn in people's sides for how many years now? Since "Roger & Me"?

Dear Disney: Why on earth did you contract with Michael Moore / The Weinsteins when you KNEW what sort of product you were likely to get?

Now the Weinsteins have the option to buy the movie back from Disney and find some other way to distribute it.

If I knew how to set up a tip jar for em, I'd do it, not because I care particularly for Michael Moore's point of view, but because I think it would be a wise investment.

Oh, and one more thing....

I received at least one petition in my email decrying the evil 'censorship' and 'suppression' of this film.

I just have one question: Where were you when Mel Gibson was unable to find a distributor for 'The Passion Of The Christ'?

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.