Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

Hypocrites And Eggshells

Thursday, Apr. 12, 2007 - 12:35 a.m.

I'm going to say this exactly one time, so pay attention.

I don't happen to like what Don Imus said. It's rude to comment on any woman's looks or sexual habits.

What Don Imus said was really stupid. He apologized.

He's done this to every ethnic group he's gotten his grubby little mitts around, for over three decades. It is the product he has been paid to produce for years and years and more years. He craps on them and then apologizes.

Ladies and gentleman, this man's behavior is NOT A SURPRISE.

And all of a sudden, after a complaint from the Reverend Al Sharpton, Don Imus's product is suddenly unpalatable?

"This time he's gone too far!"..? Oh please. He's said worse about white men.

But Al Sharpton never came to THEIR defense, nor did Sharpton utter a peep when Imus referred to Arabs as Ragheads.

---

Yesterday, I made the decision to boycott the following companies:

Staples Inc.
Bigelow Tea Company
Procter & Gamble Co.
General Motors
Sprint Nextel
GlaxoSmithKline
American Express

These are all of the companies who bailed on Don Imus -- which by extrapolation means support of Al Sharpton. By choosing to dismiss Don Imus for his verbal overstep -- something he did apologize for -- MSNBC is now in lockstep with Al Sharpton.

Their decision to kiss the ass of a liar ends my support of that network in any way.

Liar? The Reverend Al Sharpton? Did I just say he was a liar?

Why, yes I did. It's been proven in court!

---

Twenty years ago, Tawana Brawley, a 15-year-old African-American girl was found smeared with feces, lying in a garbage bag, her clothing torn and burned and with various slurs and epithets written on her body in charcoal. Brawley claimed that she had been assaulted and raped by six white men, some of them police officers, in the town of Wappingers Falls, New York.

Alton H. Maddox, and C. Vernon Mason joined Al Sharpton in very public support of Brawley. A grand jury was convened; after seven months of examining police and medical records, the jury determined that Brawley had lied about being assaulted by the police.

Sharpton, Maddox and Mason were later successfully sued for statements made in connection with the case. The three had falsely accused the case prosecutor, Steven Pagones, as being among those who abducted and raped Brawley. On July 29, 1998 the jury awarded Pagones $345,000 in damages. Sharpton was found liable for $65,000 of the total damages, Maddox for $95,000 and Mason for $185,000.

Even though Tawana Brawley eventually admitted that the accusations had been false, and that the rape report had been nothing more than an elaborate hoax -- Sharpton still refused to apologize to Pagones, and had one of his friends pay the damage amount.

Twenty years later, Sharpton has not apologized.

Sharpton HAS NOT APOLOGIZED for saying something stupid in public about somebody he doesn't know.

Read that line again. And again.

---

I am also going to pay careful attention to the Good Ol Boy network who didn't used to mind sitting around the national crackerbarrel with Imus when it suited their needs.

Obama has already opened his jug-eared head and said he agreed with the punishment that has been meted out to Imus so far.

I've watched the show in the last two years, and seen who has been dipping their toe in the water, 2008 election-wise. I know who's been on. I know who has said what.

Almost every current announced presidential candidate has appeard on the Imus In The Morning show.

I wanna see which presidental candidate rats leave this particular burlap sack -- and whoever else speaks out and suddenly finds Imus's sense of humor not to their liking, after whoring themselves out on his show for interview after interview?

Not getting my vote.

---

Can you tell I can't stand hypocrites?

---

In other news, I did some searching, and found out why it's a bad idea to put eggshells in the garbage disposal.

That's it. I'm travelling today, so see ya again on Friday the 13th!

Thanks to Old Buddy Dave for again being a gracious host.

---

Oh, almost forgot. Happy birthday shouti outies to Toren Smith, and to my friend since the age of seven, Leslie Hobbs.

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.