Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

Hopes, Fears & Applesauce

Saturday, May. 15, 2004 - 6:50 a.m.

Last night, I got to chat with one of the other Diarylanders, Cutie Latina! She lives somewhere where it's warm, and was chiding me for the weather we have up here. (low 60s with intermittent fog). Hey, I'm about ready to stop telling people what the weather is like where I live; I almost always get in some sort of trouble when I give reports! But she's also from the central valley like I am, so she's able to put up with the hot weather when she has to. I'm less able to these days, after nearly fourteen years of living out here where there's no weather in our weather, but when push comes to shove, I seem to bear the heat easier than people who have lived here all of their lives.

---

The new album from Keane arrived here yesterday. It was released on May 10 in the UK, and I see on their website that they are playing at Cafe du Nord in San Francisco on the first of June.

I wanna go! Wanna go wanna go wanna go!!!

Semi-private to Toddy: They're also gonna be at the Bluebird on the 7th of June.

Pity we can't sync my visit to match their tour date to your area.

Thanks again for the hookup, Todd. This is a brilliant band.

Folks, I recommend going to Amazon.co.uk and getting their CD, Hopes and Fears. The US version won't be released here until June 28, so if you want to hear it a lot sooner, go get the original UK version of the album.

Note: It's also available on VINYL there, too.

---

I had heard through the grapevine that the Erasure Impostor had just had a bout of pneumonia, so I couldn't resist asking after him when I saw him log on. I wanted to see for myself if he'd recovered yet, or, impossibly, if he were in the mood or frame of mind to be apologizing to me at long last.

The last I had heard, he was still able to make the rounds at the local emergency rooms and give a convincing enough performance to receive pain medication.

I'll let you decide for yourselves if this is factual.

Here is the entirety of our exchange:

Me:
Hello, Andy, how are you feeling today?

Fake Andy:
Veaving to a bit ti tchase now a famuly of juutensss and their nun.

Fake Andy:
Olud another ca I do not know. Shal et you know. Cheers!

Even after what he did to me, it's still difficult not to feel some pity.

---

And finally, in the God Help Us, It's Another Creative Celebrity Baby Name department:

LOS ANGELES (AP) - Oscar-winning actress Gwyneth Paltrow has given birth to her first child, a baby girl named Apple Blythe Alison Martin.

The baby, weighing 9 pounds, 11 ounces, was born in a London hospital Friday after what Paltrow's husband, Coldplay lead singer Chris Martin, described as ``a long labor.'' Mother and daughter were said to be doing fine.

Congratulations, Gwyneth and Chris. I hope Apple doesn't get beat up when she goes to school.

Oh well, Michael Jackson's youngest child Blanket might be able to offer emotional support when the time comes.

Thank goodness Stevie Nicks never had a child.

---

I think that's it. Later today, John and I will head over to finish preparations for Fanime Con, the trade show taking place over Memorial Day weekend. We'll be there at the Studio Proteus booth, selling manga for cheap. :-)

---

Oh wait, I lost another pound. Scale is between 207 and 208 as of yesterday morning when I was naked and empty.

Go me!

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.