Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

Wheels In The Brain

Wednesday, May. 10, 2006 - 12:40 a.m.

Dear Beaconsfield: I hope you're feeling better. Many barrels of beer were consumed, and with good reason. If I visit, I'll whisper.

---

The Great Miner Escape got me thinking. And I had myself another one of them there epiphany things.

---

I have several Emotional Vampires in my life right now, and I'm getting pretty tired of it.

Example: Don't you just get exhausted by people who say they'll do you a favor and then it doesn't quite get done because something's gone wrong in their little stack of dominoes of a life? Like, they just woke up and didn't feel like they could face the world, or they saw a bird sitting on the branch the wrong way, or whatever the fuck, and you were actually counting on them kind of hard to come through?

People like that need to grow up and stop acting like that.

Dear Fragile And Dramatic Assholes Of The World -- do us all a favor and please knock it off with the drama. Quit lashing out at your friends. Holding people emotional hostage is wrong under any parameters that can be addressed, and it's time to pull your head out and be glad you're on this side of the dirt (as opposed to being dead or worse, trapped in a fucking HOLE for two weeks!) and have good friends and good health and a place to live and enough money to subsist on. Spare me the drama. Spare me the simply solved dilemmas that plague you if you're not going to at least try and implement sensible solutions to the problems in your life. And for gosh sakes, KEEP YOUR PROMISES.

---

Ever since what happened with the Erasure Impostor, I have spent a lot of time jettisoning the supercargo -- Including people. Maybe that makes me a horrible person now. I have chosen to take care of my own life and keep an eye on my truly loved ones instead of miring down in the lives of peripheral people who only come to me to unload instead of to solve a problem -- but as my dear friend Old Buddy Dave is fond of saying, .. Them's The Berries.

There's something that is built into every human being on the planet, and it surfaces in greater or lesser degrees, depending on the person, and that is that we want to solve problems. Ever since we descended from the trees and got ourselves some opposable thumbs and harnessed fire, it's all been one great big Problem Solving Extravaganza. We're hardwired, evolutionwise.

For instance, I used to deal with a nodding acquaintence who would do NOTHING except complain about problems in her life. When I suggested extremely valid and viable solutions to her problems, I was perpetually met with what I now call 'Lateral Obfuscation': "But I *CAN'T* do THAT or [Imagined consequences that probably wouldn't happen in a million years] will happen!!" Holy shit. Well, then FINE. If I'm only being asked to listen and not to fix it, SAY SO.

But don't you DARE take up MY time and MY effort in postulating a solution and then discard it in favor of further drama.

Most of the people whom I think are jerks in this world actually believe that the solution to their own emotional problems is outside of themselves, in the form of controlling everything and everybody in their life with the thought of 'If THIS happens, THEN I will FINALLY be happy.' These are the same people who believe every single thing their friends send them in e-mail, have probably even sent a business card or two to Craig Shergold, and probably even think that our government is deliberately suppressing automotive fuel technology that would mysteriously allow people to get several skedillion miles to the gallon.

Incredibly, far too many of these people have made it to adulthood.Some have found their way to me, I've called them on their shit, and given them a bad taste in their mouth, and they've made vain attempts to impress / intimidate me with their emotional weaponry.

Either that, or they've been elected to office.

---

So, am I a terrible person for getting upset and distancing myself from these fleebs when I get tired of them not wanting to break free of their self-imposed drama? There's always a conflict. I want them not to hurt, and I want very much to fix whatever is bothering them.

Oh the other hand, if they consistently refuse to listen to common sense, then there's no hope of a fix, and I should stop worrying.

I'm going to assume for the time being that it's okay for me to be tired of being bludgeoned by unfixable drama by people who have no intent of fixing it anyway.

Arghghg. The wheels in the brain go round and round, round and round...

---

In Other News -- thanks to everybody who has surfed in from all over the world looking for information about the miners.

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.