Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

Interesting Set

Sunday, Jul. 30, 2006 - 11:09 a.m.

Saturday was interesting at the bar.

The owner, Mona, had placed some wide blue gaffer's tape across the thermostat to prevent anybody from dithering with the temperature controls during the heat wave. Instead, she believes she is saving electricity by using several giant box fans and chow blowers to cool the place down. It isn't very much cooler, but wow, are the female patrons ever pleased to get out on the dance floor in front of the blower that's approximately the size of a monster truck tire. That thing is the horizontal equivalent of the Coney Island Upskirt, and has destroyed every single hairstyle in the place at least once.

Except Rocky. He uses goop in his hair. Oh, and Dave Kern, who has a crewcut right now.

Anyway, being the last Saturday of the month, there was a midnight buffet, and Bob Chance got word that the chicken hadn't seemed Quite Right when it was taken out of the fridge, so he and everybody else in the band didn't go near it, just for safety's sake. Instead, we tiptoed over to the Mobil station and purchased stuff that had been hermetically sealed.

I texted with John throughout the evening, and found out that some peckerhead back at home in the neighborhood had been setting off M-80s or somesuch, and causing the dogs to bark. At one in the morning, THANK you so much.

Bob Chance Jr showed up at the last minute and requested to sit in for the middle set. 'Dreams' is not one of the songs he's familiar with, but when Bob Sr. asked me up to sing it, Jr. didn't do a bad job at all. He didn't stay through the entire evening because he's usually an early riser, but it was nice to see him again.

Then Mona had a very special surprise. She said another group was coming in on Thursday, and that the band would be required to breakdown and remove their equipment from the stage instead of leaving it where it was all week like they usually do.

The last set prior to last call, I got up on stage again and made another attempt, with the Peggy Lee song, 'Fever', and my brains betrayed me and I had to use a cribsheet to recall the lyrics. Darn it.

During breakdown, while everybody was trying to literally get their s*it together, Bob Sr. locked his keys in the trunk. Kern squired him home to get a second set, so my goodbyes to them were hasty.

---

We got the disassembled drum set into the car with some confoogling, and then back to Dave's and up the stairs and almost kind of stacked out of the major pathways, and later today, I am going to try and dust them.

---

Later this afternoon, if the planets are properly aligned -- meaning if the moderate temperatures continue and Dave finishes work early enough, and I avoid my usual allergy onslaught, he's talking about going to the Costa Mesa IKEA, and I've been invited.

Other than that, it's been a pretty ordinary visit. I have to hand it to Dave and Charlie. They've gone out of their way to make me feel welcomed, and that I am a part of the household.

---

Okay, that's it. Have a Sunday. I'm finally getting the hang of this Windows computer, at least the important things like, how to switch it on, and how to adjust the chair and whether the speakers work or not.

Oh, that reminds me. I showed Dave how to work iTunes. It was bundled with his most recent upgrade of Quicktime, and he was completely unfamiliar with it. But I showed him how to turn the radio function on, and how to work the visual controls.

I have a feeling this is the beginning of a beautiful relationship.

---

Okay, NOW I'm done.

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.