Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

Tuesday Afternoon

Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006 - 12:11 a.m.

Here's what I did on Tuesday.

We went to Game Castle, where Dave buys his gaming supplies, and Dave bought himself a card game which was in a single cardboard box, with two halves of the sorted deck, side by side. He calls me from work a couple of hours later with the following request, which is to go out on the internet and see if there are empty boxes suitable for cards, so he can individually pack his double deck of cards in separate boxes.

First place visited: eBay, because sometimes odd things like that turn up there. No such luck this time.

I then spend most of the rest of the afternoon researching card sizes and trying to find out if blank playing card boxes actually exist.

Yes, blank playing card boxes do exist, but you have to buy them in lots of one thousand and you have to have something printed on them. I thought maybe if you bought a thousand white boxes with a single period printed on the front in white ink, that would be acceptable. I also found a Bicycle deck that is 8" x 11", presumably like those big custom decks you see on The Price Is Right. Those are $45.00 each. Or less if you buy a thousand of THOSE. (If anybody can think of why a thousand of those decks in those size would be of use, please share with the class.)

I'm texting him about my travails, telling him where I've been looking and what sorts of prices are out there and we're going back and forth -- and then for almost a half hour, nothing from his end.

This is normal, as he sometimes has to disappear into the non reception hyperspace that is also known as the Laser Tag arena.

Eventually, a flurry of text messages come from Dave in rapid succession:

Text Msg 1
Sorry for delay. Was soldering a new connection in a piece of laser tag equip. Charlie calls to say they won't be at dinner. While on the phone, truckers come to...

Text Msg 2
...pick up a couple of games. Of course, nobody told ME. And these happen to be the games with the missing keys. So NOW I'm trying to find the keys so I can get our...

Text Msg 3
...tickets and tokens out. The keys can't be found. Driver and I work a deal. He starts loading; I find one of the key sets. I get our stuff out, and...

Text Msg 4
...as I am doing this, Nature calls. On the hot line. So, now I am [in the reading room] and relaxing, and that's why no answer to your msgs for last 20 minutes.

My response:
So, nothing's going on.

Slight pause on his end, and then:
Not much, no.

There just comes a time when a person reaches a text message event horizon.

---

This entire country is shvitzing in this heat. No, quit asking me, goyim. Go look it up.

A hundred and four in New York with forty eight percent humidity, at two pm local time today.

---

Okay, kids. That's it. Have a good Wednesday.

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.