Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

What a Crock

Wednesday, Sept. 13, 2006 - 12:35 a.m.

We think we found the culprit for John's Monday Morning Tummy; there was some evil cotto salami that made its way into a sandwich. Whoops!

I wasn't sure it was compromised, but then I did the experiment. Squished all the air out of the ziploc it was in, and put it back in the fridge.

I had a dirigible in about three hours. Eww.

Still don't recommend chili and egg rolls together, though.

---

A couple of things in the news:

PORTLAND, Oregon (AP) -- A nurse returning from work discovered an intruder armed with a hammer in her home and strangled him with her bare hands, police said.

Susan Kuhnhausen, 51, ran to a neighbor's house after the confrontation Wednesday night. Police found the body of Edward Dalton Haffey 59, a convicted felon with a long police record. Police said there was no obvious sign of forced entry at the house when Kuhnhausen, an emergency room nurse at Providence Portland Medical Center, got home from work shortly after 6 p.m.

Under Oregon law people can use reasonable deadly force when defending themselves against an intruder or burglar in their homes. Kuhnhausen was treated and released for minor injuries at Providence.

Haffey, about 5-foot-9 and 180 pounds, had convictions including conspiracy to commit aggravated murder, robbery, drug charges and possession of burglary tools. Neighbors said Kuhnhausen's size -- 5-foot-7 and 260 pounds -- may have given her an advantage.

"Everyone that I've talked to says 'Hurray for Susan,' said neighbor Annie Warnock, who called 911.

"You didn't need to calm her. She's an emergency room nurse. She's used to dealing with crisis."

And then there's this:

Since the death of Steve Irwin, authorities say as many as ten mutilated stingrays have been found dead on Queensland beaches. Two stingrays were found today at Deception Bay, north of Brisbane, with their tails cut off, while up to eight stingrays were found in similar circumstances yesterday on Dundowran Beach, near Hervey Bay.

Department of Primary Industries and Fisheries (DPIF) biologist Wayne Sumpton examined the stingrays at Deception Bay and said it was not known how they were caught and whether the two incidents were connected to the death of Mr Irwin. But Wildlife Warrior executive director Michael Hornby, a friend of Mr Irwin, said the killings could be in retaliation to his death � behaviour which flew in the face of everything the Crocodile Hunter believed in. �We just want to make it very clear that we will not accept and not stand for anyone who's taken a form of retribution. That's the last thing Steve would want,� he said.

�Stingrays are beautiful creatures and play an important role for the environment. �I hope everyone understands we have to protect wildlife now more than ever. This is what Steve was all about.�

Let me tell you: When I first heard how Steve Irwin was killed, the very first thing I did was go out online and read every single thing I could find about stingrays. I thought intstead of being ignorant or frightened of those creatures, that was the wrong mindset to be in, even though I was so very upset about the loss. In my own way, it was how I wanted to honor Steve Irwin -- the misunderstood and ugly and scary animals of this earth were his favorites. So I figured learning about them was the best way to cope and do something positive.

So, anybody who is killing rays? Fucked up. Bad. Wrong. Demented.

---

New episode of Project Runway tonight; I was sorry to see Vince go, but the people who are left are really good.

---

Okay. Done, have a good Wednesday.

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.