Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

A Little Too Soon

Saturday, Sept. 23, 2006 - 2:44 a.m.

I know we miss the guy. I have cried every single day since it happened. I'm emotional right now as this is being composed.

But in my opinion, this borders on the morbid. Can we let the body get COLD, please?...

LIFE STYLE EXTRA (UK) - Russell Crowe wants to play Steve Irwin in a film based on the life of the 'Crocodile Hunter'.

The Oscar-winning Australian actor - who has repeatedly spoken of his affection for friend Steve after he was tragically killed, aged just 44, by a stingray - is in talks with Universal Studios about making a biopic.

Crowe, 42, is desperate to make the movie as he feels it would be a fitting tribute to the wildlife expert's life.

An insider told In Touch Weekly magazine: "It's not about money for Russell - it's about honouring his friend.

"Steve once told Russell that he wanted him to play him in a movie version of his life."

A public memorial was held for father of two Steve on Wednesday.

His eight-year-old daughter Bindi read out a tribute to her dad and a pre-recorded video message from Crowe was broadcast.

The 'Gladiator' star said: "We've all lost a friend, we've lost a champion, and we're going to take some time to adjust to that."

Other tributes came from Australian Prime Minister John Howard, 'Dances With Wolves' star Kevin Costner and Cameron Diaz.

Australian TV executives are already in talks about releasing a DVD of the memorial service which was attended by 5,000 people.

Yes, I vote for a region-free DVD release of the memorial, as it would raise funds, and besides, it was one of the most memorable send-offs I have ever seen.

But my God. ... Already in negotiations for a movie?

EeEEeeEEEeeeW!

---

Meanwhile, here's the haps with the chip off the old crock. Thankya to Hissandtell for the pointer to this and other related stories!...

SYDNEY: Bindi Irwin, the eight-year-old who captured hearts around the world with her poignant farewell to her father, Crocodile Hunter Steve Irwin, will be back to work soon on her television series.

John Stainton, Irwin's mate who organised the public memorial on Queensland's Sunshine Coast on Wednesday, told reporters he planned to resume production on Bindi's television series within two weeks. "She has to step up to the mark again, quickly," Stainton told the Sydney Morning Herald.

Bindi certainly stepped up to the mark on Wednesday, entrancing people with her smiling heartfelt tribute to her father. And she promised to continue Irwin's legacy during her tribute, saying: "I want to help endangered wildlife, just like he did." Irwin was involved in filming for Bindi's 26-episode wildlife documentary series when he was fatally injured by a stingray barb two weeks ago. Stainton said there were 19 programmes still to make.

Irwin's own father, Bob, said after Wednesday's service he was not surprised by his granddaughter's composed performance, but thought she may not yet have dealt with Irwin's death. "She does so well (but) I don't think she has broken down as much as I would have expected, but she is a very strong little girl and is coping extremely well."

A child psychologist yesterday warned that with predictions that Bindi would eclipse her father's fame, too much pressure was being placed on her.

Alison Garton, a professor of psychology at Western Australia's Edith Cowan University, told AAP: "She's obviously a very poised and mature eight-year-old, but I think some of these public statements are probably a bit extreme at this point in time," Prof Garton said. "She's only eight and she probably doesn't even understand properly what it means not to have Daddy around anyway."

Stainton told the Courier-Mail newspaper Bindi had written every word of her touching tribute and had insisted on reading it "because she was scared that she would forget something. "Nobody interfered with her, I didn't have part of it", he said.

Wes Mannion, director of Irwin's Australian Zoo, said his mate would have been "so proud" of Bindi's composure and strength.

"I mean, Steve and Bindi were incredibly close. . . and he (Steve) would have been going 'yeah, you beauty, darlin'," Mr Mannion said.

Now, here's the deal. No two people mourn the same way, and eight-year-olds are no different. The only time I cried when I was a child was if I was in physical pain, which thankfully wasn't that often. Emotional losses didn't have that effect on me until I was much older.

With that in mind, my guess is that Bindi knows exactly what's happened, has chosen to deal with it by being strong for her father's family and friends, and if she cries, she's decided to do it privately because she's decided some aspects of this experience are none of the public's business.

She's one of the sharpest young people I have ever seen, and she's also currently the most cared-for eight year old on the planet.

In my opinion, she'll be okay. As long as the adults who surround her don't visit their own fears and phobias and expectations on her, that is.

---

I think I am actually being taken to breakfast today instead of being allowed to conjure it this time. That will be very nice.

---

Okay, there. Have a good Saturday. And happy first full day of Fall.

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.