Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

Vote & Rubber Monster Suit

Monday, Oct. 23, 2006 - 12:53 a.m.

I asked this yesterday and got no answer, so I'm asking once more, because I really do need your feedback.

I've been thinking about something for awhile, and I need your help in deciding what to do.

I'm done with my CD. People who have heard it say it's very listenable. If I had to describe myself as an artist, I'd say I was a multi-instrumentalist who specialized in Ambient / Electronica.

If I offered it for sale, would you folks actually buy it?

Any feedback welcomed. I really mean it. :-D

---

So here I am up late on early Monday morning, watching the genetically modified Star Trek, and the episode that's been twitted with is ARENA.

Holy Rubber Monster Suit -- why? What in the name of galloping Gorns were they hoping to improve?...???

Bueller..?... Bueller...??..??

---

John and I are filling out our absentee ballots and mailing them tomorrow.

In California, ANYBODY can vote absentee, provided they meet the other usual parameters (over 18 on election day, and legal resident of the USA, not a felon). So, if your polling place is too far away, or the Indian Summer heat just has you in a tizzy about leaving your nice air-conditioning -- TOO BAD! I still expect you to vote! There's NO EXCUSE!

More and more counties are putting their registration forms online as PDF documents, and some counties even have telephone services that you can call and they'll send you a registration form and a SASE in the mail, so you don't even have to print anything. Just punch seven numbers into a telephone and you're on your way to becoming a registered voter.

And if you're too lazy to have even done THAT, you can STILL walk into the local polling place, show your ID, and tell them you want a ballot, even if you're not on the registered voter's list. They'll give you one, but they won't drop yours in the box until they verify who you are. But you will have still voted. Nope. NO EXCUSE. If citizens of our fair state can manage to vote while they are stationed over in Iraq -- then your voting process should be relatively simple, no?

What gets me is the people who DO NOT vote, and then turn around and criticize the goverment. Or better, the window-lickers who say '"This government sucks so why be a part of the process?" To which I answer, "The reason it sucks is because not enough people like you have been part of the process. You contributed to this government's inability to comprehend what the people want by NOT VOTING."

TODAY is the LAST DAY in CALIFORNIA for you to REGISTER. Go to any supermarket, and there's somebody out there sitting at a table. Go to city hall. Go to any library.

For the sake of your future -- vote.

And if you don't, then you one hundred percent give up your right to be a whining titty baby in my direction when your taxes go up or your funding gets cut or the guy who got voted into office steals a bunch of money or sends dirty email to his secretary's children when you would have voted for the other guy.

---

Well, Spock is officially an orphan now...

Actress Jane Wyatt, who played Mr Spock's mother in Star Trek and the stereotypical television mother on the hit television series Father Knows Best, has died in her Los Angeles area home aged 96.

According to publicist Meg McDonald, Wyatt died on Friday in her sleep of natural causes.

Wyatt played Margaret Anderson alongside the late Robert Young in the popular 1950s series Father Knows Best, which chronicled the life and times of the Anderson family in the mid-western town of Springfield and earned Wyatt multiple Emmys.

Her film career suffered when she was black-listed by Senator Joe McCarthy and the House Un-American Activities Committee in the early 1950s after President Franklin Roosevelt asked her to assist in hosting an American performance by the Bolshoi Ballet following World War II.

Later, she would become a prominent opponent of McCarthy's black-listing of Hollywood writers and actors.

She was married to investor and inventor Edgar Bethune Ward for 63 years until he died in 2000.

She is survived by two sons, three grandchildren and five great grandchildren.

And the reason I say Spock is now orphaned is because Mark Lenard died in 1996.

---

All rightie. Done. Try and have a good Monday.

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.