Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

A Moment Of Sanity

Tuesday, Nov. 21, 2006 - 4:12 a.m.

My skin problem is dormant right now. Thank goodness.

I did some reading about anti-fungal medications, and I found out that the main ingredient in most of the topical meds is a chemical that prevents the fungal cells from growing by weakening the cell walls. With that in mind, I experimented with one of my skin barrier pastes that I usually use directly around the opening of the ostomy, and it seems to have done the trick.

No further weeping or itching as of this writing. Knock on Formica.

---

About a week ago, I made this post concerning the OJ Simpson book and upcoming TV special.

In it I had said that there were days in which I wondered what planet I had awakened on.

Well, I am beginning to think I might actually be back on Earth in the 21st century after all:

Fox Cancels O.J. Simpson Show And Book

After criticism from the public and a mutiny from some affiliates, News Corp. has cancelled the O.J. Simpson book and television special If I Did It.

"I and senior management agree with the American public that this was an ill-considered project," said Rupert Murdoch, News Corp. chairman, on Monday. "We are sorry for any pain that his has caused the families of Ron Goldman and Nicole Brown Simpson."

The book and special was designed to allow Simpson to tell how he would have "hypothetically" committed the murders. Judith Regan, the book's publisher, said she considered it to be Simpson's confession.

Even some top Fox personalities spoke out against the series. "You can make a statement by not participating in this!" Bill O'Reilly, star of Fox News' The O'Reilly Factor, told his viewers.

With fellow Fox personality Geraldo Rivera egging him on, O'Reilly delivered a second bite to the hand that feeds him: "You know this is all about money, what other reason is to have this!? It's money!"

Yale Galatner, an attorney for Simpson, said: "I would have never approved this project."

Fox Television has been struggling. None of its new shows have caught on, and American Idol doesn't start until January. The special was designed to promote the book, which was to have been published on Nov. 30, and grab ratings during the end of U.S. television's sweeps period. The sweeps period is important to the TV industry because ratings from that period are used to set advertising rates.

However, some analysts said not many advertisers would likely want to be associated with such a show, and without advertising, Neilsen might not even rate the program. HarperCollins, parent company of ReganBooks, said all copies of the book will be destroyed.

As for Simpson, it isn't clear if he'll still be paid for his appearance in the special or for the book.

I am still trying to figure out who in all of the depth and breadth of creation thought this was a good idea in the first place, because those people need to know that they're the reason the phrase 'nuttier than rat shit in a pistachio factory' was invented.

Who was in the room during the pitch? Find that out, somebody, please.

We'll probably never know the answer to the above question, due to the same mysterious law of physics that made it possible for Richard Nixon to be re-elected by apparently absolutely nobody.

---

So. I guess we get to check the obituary section for Michael Richards' career, right?

Or will we give him another chance or forget about it like Mel Gibson?

---

Okay, done. Have a good Tuesday!

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.