Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

More Inconvenient Truths

Monday, Feb. 26, 2007 - 5:16 a.m.

I watch television with the captions on. And for those of you who also do that, you know what happens when you are channel surfing, and the captions generated by one show get combined with the captions with another show.

Here's what happened when I was flipping past both an informercial for an electric knife and the beginning of the morning news:

A PERFECT CUT WITHOUT SMOOSHING
LEFT THOUSANDS WITHOUT POWER

---

In the Worth A Look depertment...

The Sprint "Frank Might Be Late" commercial.

LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT

---

Oscars were fun last night, except for the glaring error of awarding an Oscar for Best Documentary Feature to the film based on one-sided hypothetical computer simulations, An Inconvenient Truth.

A documentary is a film which presents FACTS.

Mind you, it's okay to take facts and with those facts, present them from the documentary-maker's perspective -- but re-packaging hypothetical situations as truth? Is it fair to the viewer to do this without a disclaimer?

An Inconvenient Truth. is based on computer models, not facts.

My in-laws have watched the film and taken it as the gospel truth, and there's no fix for that.

Now, that piece of propaganda has been validated with the awarding of an Oscar.

Shame on EVERYBODY involved with that decision.

People have to stop assuming that when somebody is trying do Do Something To Make The World Better that they couldn't possibly have an agenda of any kind. Remember Rob Reiner? He was appointed to a very succulent little job with the First Five Commission -- a California state government institution -- while at the same time campaigning for a proposition which would fund state-run preschools (in other words, keep him employed). The criticism in the face of this conflict of interest caused Reiner to resign from his position with the First Five Commission on March 29, 2006. There's going to be an audit of the commission's funds in the face of accusations of misuse of state money for the political campaign for his proposition.

Al Gore Jr. is currently the Chairman of Generation Investment Management, which is a London-based investment firm set up to tap the growing demand for more environmentally responsible investments.

Gee, I wonder why that demand is suddenly growing? HmmMMM...?

Oh yes, that "documentary" that's been going around, starring him.

The institutionalized fear-mongering that surrounds and distorts the global warming theories has been the most lucrative con-job that's come along since the Catholic Church decided the world was flat and began torturing and taking land and property away from anybody who disagreed with them.

And before the chest-thumping greenies start yelling at me... follow these links and do a little reading, for gosh sakes.

If Al Gore wants to try and retain any credibility with me, he's going to have to resign from his position as Chair of Generation Investment Management and allows an audit of the company's funds.

Then I won't keep pointing at the obvious and absurd and downright dishonest conflict of interest that is happening here.

---

Okay. Have a good Monday.

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.