Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

Warming, Cooling, and COOL.

Monday, Jul. 09, 2007 - 12:46 a.m.

Since it won't sound too objective if I refer to anything about Global Warming from any source that receives funds from anybody in the entire fucking world -- let's look here instead.

Here's research done by Kristen Byrnes, a fifteen year old girl who decided to study the movie An Inconvenient Truth for her school science project. When she went to double check what Al Gore and the people who appeared in the movie with him had said, to see how accurate it was, she found some alarmingly one-sided science, and presented it on this website.

A fifteen year old girl, with no agenda.

Make of it what you will.

---

Something is puzzling me, and here's a couple of things that are adding to the puzzlement:

First -- does anybody out there remember when we found out what caused the kill-off of the dinosaurs?

It was a great big meteor, which landed on the Yucatan peninsula.

Based on verified findings, the conclusion that has been reached is that the debris that was kicked up, along with any fires that were started, caused a cloud of smoke and dirt that has been measured in ice packs and dirt samples from all over the world and which lasted for several years, and according to those same samples, lowered the earth's temperature to such an amount that the plants the dinosaurs lived on did not survive, and the dinosaurs were too slow to adapt to this sudden alteration to the climate.

Second -- In 1991, Mount Pinatubo erupted, and as you can see in the pictures here, formed a layer of particulat matter above the clouds. Because of the volcano, there were tremendous depletions in the ozone levels that year. Because of the reduction of sunlight by the amount of ash in the air, temperatures decreased by as much as a full degree Farenheit in the northern hemisphere, and across the globe about three quarters of one degree Farenheit for that year. As you can see in this picture here, solar radiation levels were reduced when there were volcanic eruptions.

Okay. You've seen the above, and read about the above.

My question is this: If we work at reducing the amount of greenhouse gases / carbon / aerosols / particulat matter which we humans put up into the air -- by extrapolation, won't that make the sun's rays better able to penetrate our atmosphere and thus make our air warmer?

It won't?... why not?...

And when you answer -- point me to actual data that is based on verifiable facts which have already taken place.

In any event, the sad fact of the global warming hoops we're jumping through is this: Absolutely none of it is going to matter one single bit if the Yellowstone caldera or the Mount Shasta caldera gives way to actual volcanic explosions. Those are two of the largest areas of volcanic activity on the North American continent, and when they go, none of our recycling and pollution credits are going to matter one single bit.

---

We had a lovely weekend of doing absolutely nothing, except for John leaving the house to stalk and kill some wild groceries at the market.

He came home with feral hamburgers and aqfter muttering the proper incantations, I put them beneath the Orange Bar Of Fire in the Little Metal Box, and verily they were awesome.

---

One more thing before I go -- I was noodling around on the web just now, and found an obituary for a woman who used to be my mother-in-law.

Marjorie Winderman was the mother of my second husband, Michael Winderman -- and may I say for the record that I thought she was spectacular. She welcomed me into the fold as if I were her own daughter, and I have never forgotten her, though it's been nearly twenty years since we laid eyes on one another.

The world was cooler because of you. Thanks for being who you were.

---

Okay, enough. Bye. Have a good Monday.

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.