Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

Soup To Nuts & Friday Five

Saturday, Sept. 22, 2007 - 2:30 a.m.

I'm composing this in the very early morning of the last day of Summer.

There's some unstable weather around me somewhere. As I'm sitting up into the wee hours of Saturday morning, I just heard thunder. And as I listen to the AM radio here, I hear the crackling hiss of the lightning, and am finding that the lightning is eight to ten hippopotamuses away from me. Likely to the north or south and to the east.

We almost never get thunder and lightning here in San Francisco proper, because the hills here are too gentle for the clouds to scutter up against and cause the conditions that are optimal for this kind of weather.

Late Friday afternoon, though, during sunset, we had a nice fall of rain. The clouds didn't reach all the way to the horizon, so the setting sun blazing through the silvery raindrops made for a beautiful end to the day. I was not in a place where I could easily see if there was a rainbow, but if there was, I bet it was wonderful.

---

Okay, here's a Friday Five:

1. Name one movie you wish everybody could watch.

It's All Gone Pete Tong.

2. Name two books you wish everybody could read.

Handbook to Higher Consciousness by Ken Keyes and The Runaway Bunny by Margaret Wise Brown.

3. Name three goals you wish everybody could achieve.

Comfortable shoes
Knowledge of self
Being able to decipher the news, and sort the wheat from the chaff and the science from the fiction.

4. Name four places you wish everybody could visit.

San Francisco, California
The Sutter Buttes, Sutter County, CA
Crystal Springs Reservoir, San Mateo County, CA
Disneyland, California


5. Name five people you wish everybody could know about.

Harriet Quimby
Douglas Englebart
Sergei Produkin-Gorskii
Osamu Tezuka
Ida Craddock

This list was an unused Friday Five that was submitted to the LJ website, but not used.

---

When I was a kid, we used to play 'From Soup To Nuts'. It was a word game that required you to turn the word SOUP into the word NUTS in as few words as possible, changing only one letter of each word at a time, with no names of people or places.

I did it with a total of nineteen words, including the two starter words. Can you do better?

---

That's it for today. Have a good Saturday.

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.