Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

Amnesia VS Bugfuck

Tuesday, Sept. 25, 2007 - 12:23 a.m.

Ronn Owens was back on the air yesterday morning.

He described last Monday as him going to work like any other day, and the last thing he remembers is sitting down at the mic, and then the NEXT thing he remembers is waking up at the hospital with his program director and his wife hovering over him.

It wasn't drugs, good or evil, and it wasn't booze and it wasn't epilepsy and it wasn't a stroke.

The diagnosis was something called 'transient global amnesia.' It's a disorder in the hippocampus that basically produces a handful of symptoms similar to a stroke, but without actually being a stroke. It's extremely rare, and affects only about 3-10 people per 100,000.

Well, I guess if that's what the doctors concluded, that will have to do. Sure sounded like a mini-stroke to me, though.

I've had a couple of jump-cuts in my life, not having to do with regular sleep. In the middle of a multi-week stay at the hospital for my car accident and subsequent surgery and recuperation, there was one morning I woke up extremely late for me, and found my parents there, along with my grandmother and Uncle Joe, who never panicked about anything. I'd had a roll the eyes back in the head seizure of some kind, and it was corrected by actually paying the fuck attention to what the fuck the staff had done to me and replacing the WRONG fucking type of blood they were putting into me with the RIGHT type.

And of course, there's always that wonderful sodium pentathol jump cut that comes with exstensive dental surgery.

So I sympathize with Ronn. And I'm glad he's better.

And I hope it never happens to him again.

---

I was kind of in two minds as to whether or not I wanted Iran's president to visit the USA.

But now I'm glad the peaceniks at Columbia got to see for themselves how nutty this man is.

Yup. As the saying goes, Mahmoud Ahmadinejad is nuttier than rat shit in a pistachio factory.

He almost got laughed off the stage when he said that there were no homosexuals in Iran.

You know, though, what WOULD have been kinda FUN is to have taken his papers, along with those of his entourage, and insisted he stay here in the USA.

For four hundred and forty-four days.

Somewhere sparkly and purple and fashionable over here in my fair city's Castro District.

---

Okay, there you go. Have a good Tuesday.

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.