Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

Travels and Travails

Wednesday, Oct. 17, 2007 - 1:06 a.m.

First, happy birthday to my favorite local radio personality, Ronn Owens.

Ronn, you look verah sexah for a 70-year-old, and the fact that you are only 62 hardly ever crosses my mind these days.

May you have many more of them.

---

The futon is visible again. I wish I'd taken a picture of John's face when he walked in after work. I tried to doze there Tuesday morning and afternoon, but am still a little dazed from missing about a night and a half's worth of sleep while preparing for my next visit south.

---

I received a lot of interesting hits since the LA Weekly story came to light and I went and commented on the impostor victim's blog.

Some of them are coming from Canada and one came from Wisconsin, a couple from Minnesota, and a whole BUNCH came from Illinois.

Every single one of those hits made the same search; arriving here from my Erasure impostor story, and trying to find a picture of the impostor.

I know this because I have SiteMeter and WhatRoute installed on my computer.

There's also another level of security I've invested in, which has given me incredible peace of mind, but that's something I am choosing not to share with my readership.

Heh heh. You all will just have to wonder what I've got up my sleeve.

---

I'm finding out that the bullshit I was subjected to by Fake Andy and which Audrey was subjected to by JSJ has an actual official name: Munchausen By Internet. There are additional links here on Wikipedia.

There's an up-side in this for me, though: I actually still have a scrapbook of a lot of the things Fake Andy sent me; when I went and retrieved it and looked at it again the night before last, I was unaffected, save for the hope of being able to one day compare notes with Audrey, and to tell her I have a bunch of stuff for her to look at if she wants it.

No tears, no shot nerves, not an excessive amount of anger...

In short, I think I'm healthy again.

---

After my travails with my impostor, though, I have sure learned a lot about one-on-one cult relationships; I worry about those who close themselves off from trusted sources of reality at the behest of the dominant person in the relationship, and those who react with open hostility at the supposition by me that they're in a one-on-one cult relationship.

Any of these sound familiar out there? Are you involved with somebody who is pulling the following head-trips on you?...

Excerpt from the above website:

The similarities between cultic devotion and the traumatic bonding that occurs between battered individuals and their abusers are striking. An abused partner is generally made to submit to the following types of behaviors:

Early verbal and/or physical dominance
Isolation/imprisonment
Fear arousal and maintenance
Guilt induction
Contingent expressions of "love"
Enforced loyalty to the aggressor and self-denunciation
Promotion of powerlessness and helplessness
Pathological expressions of jealousy
Hope-instilling behaviors
Required secrecy

When psychological coercion and manipulative exploitation have been used in a one-on-one cultic relationship, the person leaving such a relationship faces issues similar to those encountered by someone leaving a cultic group.

Don't be afraid to ask questions if somebody is hurting you in any of the above ways, no matter how much you love them. I hate seeing anything like what happened to me and to Audrey unfold in the lives of others.

---

Okay. I have a bunch of stuff to finish up today as I'm heading out tomorrow.

Have a wonderful Wednesday.

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.