Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

Second Day

Wednesday, Jan. 02, 2008 - 12:51 a.m.

Yesterday afternoon, John and I saw the coolest thing, quite literally, that we'd seen in a long time, in the form of an NHL game.

Pittsburgh Penguins versus the Buffalo Sabres... OUTSIDE.

In an outdoor arena.

In the snow.

The ice was shitty because of the slushy snow, which meant the puck was possessed and never went where it was supposed to, but both teams really looked like they were having the times of their lives.

I hope this is done again somewhere.

---

Meantime -- Happy second day of the year. I'm still coughing. But less and less.

---

Courtesy of Old Buddy Dave, I see on Mark Evanier's blog that Bill Idelson has passed. He was a comedy writer and teacher of same, who is best remembered on television, at least by me, as Sally Rogers' nebbish boyfriend, Herman Glimcher.

He was funny, and he was also the reason so many of my favorite programs were funny.

Sigh.

---

Okay, onto better things...

I found this list over in the diary of Abby, aka dragprincess! Here are my answers to the questions.

What did you do in 2007 that you'd never done before?

Worked in a recording studio. Released my own CD. Believe it or not, the two items I mention here are not related. Taking Amtrak.

Did you keep your new year's resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I don't even fucking bother with them anymore. I've kept them sometimes, but most of the time I have no earthly idea what's going to do me the most good for the entire year when I'm on Day One, so I don't try and forecast ahead for an entire year's worth of days and needs.

Did anyone close to you give birth?

Nope.

Did anyone close to you die?

My cousin Robert.

What countries did you visit?

None, but I flew back and forth between Oakland and Anaheim a bunchabuncha times.

What would you like to have in 2008 that you lacked in 2007?

More motivation when I start a project to actually finish the damned thing.

What date from 2007 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

May 11 2007, when I got to see Keane with Marion Kubichan, my mom's best friend from high school. It was like being with mom again.

What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Writing my own music and releasing my own CD.

What was your biggest failure?

Failing to get organized. I'm going to just have this one etched somewhere, because apparently it's always going to be true.

Did you suffer illness or injury?

You bet your ass. For some reason my hearing loss has been semi-stabilized, but I now have SLE, which is a form of lupus.

What was the best thing you bought?

A replacement hard drive, and a Flip video camera.

Whose behaviour merited celebration?

Old Buddy Dave. He's leared to live by the Japanese saying "When somebody walks away, do not follow them."

Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?

You know who you are. Eat shit in Hell on a paper plate with a plastic spoon. And have a wonderful day!

Where did most of your money go?

Travel.

What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Finishing my CD. Obtaining a premium Annual Pass for Disneyland. Seeing my mom's friend for the first time since I was about five. The final Harry Potter book.

What song(s) will always remind you of 2007?

"Falling Slowly" from the movie Once, "Is It Any Wonder" by Keane

Compared to this time last year, are you:

I. happier or sadder?

Pretty much the same. Leaning toward happier since I'm certainly not sadder.

II. thinner or fatter?

Fatter, though I think I'm about to reach the event horizon for that. I should find my scale and step on it pretty soon, I guess.

III. richer or poorer?

About the same.

What do you wish you'd done more of?

Spent more time at the park.

What do you wish you'd done less of?

Being ill.

How will you be spending New Year's?

Sheltered in place with hubby and pizza here at home, and Old Buddy Dave on the phone around midnight. All in all a very nice evening.

Did you fall in love in 2007?

Yes -- with a Siamese cat, about a month ago.

How many one-night stands?

None.

What was your favourite TV program?

Dog, The Bounty Hunter, Project Runway, I Love New York 2. (Oh, shut your holes; ever heard the term 'guilty pleasure'? :-) )

Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?

Hate. No, but there's at least several new faces on my 'Karma Is A Bitch And You're SO Gonna Get Yours' list.

What was the best book you read?

Harry Potter And The Deathly Hallows by JK Rowling. Geisha by Liza Dalby. Now, I am currently reading an iDVD book so that maybe I'll be able to do something with all of this bullshit I've captured on the Flip video camera.

What was your greatest musical discovery?

How much fun it is to be in a recording studio, and I got a chance to actually record a song with Old Buddy Dave. The man we worked for, Bob Chance, says our voices complement one another. For some reason, I'm under the impression that this is a nice thing to know.

What did you want and get?

I got everything I wanted.

What did you want and not get?

Not applicable. Lucky me!

What was your favourite film of this year?

Ratatouille.

What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I was this many (holds up forty-two fingers) and I went to Disneyland.

What one thing would have made your year immeasurably satisfying?

The arrest and conviction of the Erasure Impostor on fraud charges.

How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2007?

Black on top, denim on the bottom. Sensible shoes. Finding the perfect bra. Pjs all day unless company is coming.

What kept you sane?

Diaryland and Disneyland, in no particular order.

Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Wow, I'm still aching to feed Tom Chaplin a decent meal and then make him go to sleep. I suppose that answers the question..?

What political issue stirred you the most?

How badly I want Barack Obama to become president. Then hopefully Al Sharpton and Jesse Jackson will be silenced for at least four years, while an African-American man who comes from a single parent arrangement and dithered around with illegal drugs in his youth holds the office of President Of The United States.

Who did you miss?

Brian Clayton. But that's finally diminishing.

Who was the best new person you met?

Online, too many to count. In person, I'll have to say Jon Kubichan, because that's Marion's husband, and the man after whom my little brother was named. I also got to meet Cutie Latina and her husband in person, too!

Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2007:

Unused vomit bags don't make a nice present to anybody when I've flown somewhere. They always want the peanuts instead.

Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:

You have suffered enough
And warred with yourself
It's time that you won

Thanks for posting this, Abby!

---

All right, that's it. Have a good Wednesday!

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.