Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

Heaven and Hail

Monday, Jan. 07, 2008 - 12:19 a.m.

Sunday morning, I was laying in bed, with my headphones on, listening to AM radio, and doing that thing that I have come to call 'coasting.' That's that semi lucid sleep thing where you're sort of paying attention but sort of not and sort of awake and sort of asleep.

Then I heard the host tell his audience about the following story, and suddenly I was sitting bolt upright and wide awake, and made my way to the computer to compose my post.

"God made you a man."

That's what Charlene Hastings said she was told when she called to inquire about breast enlargement surgery at Seton Medical Center, a Catholic hospital in Daly City.

Now the San Franciscan is suing the hospital, claiming officials there discriminated against her because she had a sex-change operation. Hastings, 57, had already had the major surgery she needed to become a woman. She had chosen a San Francisco plastic surgeon with privileges at Seton to perform the breast augmentation in October 2006. But the surgeon, Dr. Leonard Gray, told her that Seton no longer allowed him to operate on transgender patients, Hastings said.

When Hastings called Seton to learn more, a surgical coordinator said the hospital would not allow its facilities to be used for transgender surgery, according to the lawsuit. "She was saying, 'It's not God's will,'" Hastings said. "I couldn't believe it. It's a blatant case of discrimination."

The lawsuit, filed Dec. 21 in San Francisco Superior Court, pits the rights of transgendered people against the hospital's rights to operate according to its religious principles. State law allows religiously affiliated hospitals to refuse to provide abortions, but there is no specific religious exemption allowing hospitals to deny transgender people elective surgery.

"This certainly isn't an isolated incident," said Kristina Wertz, legal director of the Transgender Law Center in San Francisco. "Seton and other hospitals in the area have put up significant barriers to care" for transgender people, she said.

Seton is a member of the Daughters of Charity Health System, which operates five Catholic hospitals in California including O'Connor Hospital in San Jose. The surgical coordinator was following hospital policy in refusing Hastings' surgery, said Elizabeth Nikels, vice president of communications for Daughters of Charity.

"Seton Medical Center provides medically necessary services to all individuals," Nikels said in a prepared statement. "However, the hospital does not perform surgical procedures contrary to Catholic teaching; for example, abortion, direct euthanasia, transgender surgery or any of its related components." The hospital did not comment directly on the lawsuit.

Gray still performs breast enlargement surgeries at Seton on women who are not transgender.

When it was owned by Catholic Healthcare West, a large hospital conglomerate, Seton apparently did allow transgender surgery. But when the Daughters of Charity, which took ownership of the hospital in 2002, learned in 2006 that such surgeries were still taking place, they were stopped, said two sources who asked not to be identified because they were not authorized to speak publicly for their organizations.

Wertz thinks Seton's policy violates the Unruh Act, a state law that prohibits discrimination on the basis of gender, gender identity or sexual orientation.

"There's simply no religious exemption in the Unruh Act," Wertz said. "We're talking about a type of care that's OK for one class but not another."

While her case winds through the courts, Hastings said she has put off having the breast augmentation surgery, in part because her breasts are continuing to grow through hormone therapy.

However, she is planning to have surgery to feminize her nose in February. Hastings, who works for the city of San Francisco as a tax collector, said she was raised Catholic. "I think God loves me no matter what," she said.

Christopher Dolan, the San Francisco attorney representing Hastings, said Seton may argue that it's within its rights to deny elective procedures to transgender people on religious grounds, but "that's not what this lawsuit is about. This is a civil rights story," he said. "It is about transgender people being able to use businesses and other facilities on an equal basis as other people. If you took out 'transgender' in the lawsuit and replaced it with 'African-American,' this would be a no-brainer."

---

So basically if a hospital says they can't alter a person's body because it's against God's will if they weren't born that way, then why do they correct harelips on babies, or offer caesarian sections to women? This hospital wouldn't have allowed my ileostomy surgery and I would have died there. In fact, why are they treating any illnesses at all that weren't present at birth? Isn't it going against the will of God to perform any medically necessary service at all? Aren't they interfering with God's will by doing so?

Charlene Hastings was a female who was unfortunate enough to have been born in a wrong body, which, in my opinion, is the penultimate birth defect, and as a matter of course and necessity, I believe she has the right to have her birth defect minimized by any means possible. If Seton is a COMPLETELY PRIVATE hospital which receives NO state or federal funding, THEN they might have a right to state what they will and won't do for somebody. Otherwise, I agree with Ms. Hastings in that there is blatant discrimination going on, in that they are refusing to take part in the ongoing process of correcting somebody's birth anomalies, simply due to the fact that she was once trapped in a body that was externally that of a male.

If Seton Hospital DOES correct harelips or portwine stains or superfluous digits from an infant's hand or foot, then the surgery Mr. Hastings is requesting should be no different.

I will be following the course of this lawsuit.

---

Sunday night, I gave John a haircut that he seems to like.

Then I did that usual extremely annoying thing and followed him around, glaring at his head in different types of lighting, and wielding the scissors when I thought I saw a twig.

And no, the electricity didn't go out.

---

Speaking of which, there's been no horrid weather since the one bad spell on Friday. Rumors of grape-sized hailstones are greatly exaggerated, and we didn't see any of that here.

---

All right, there you go. Have an excellent Monday. If you used a formerly living tree, for gosh sakes, you should have taken it down yesterday.

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.