Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

Fierce

Thursday, Mar. 06, 2008 - 12:35 a.m.

First, hooray for Christian Siriano, the most recent winner of Project Runway.

Christian, you are annoying as hell. But you are also FIERCE, which is the part that counts.

Nothin' but love, babe. Congrats!

---

Next, I want to reproduce my sidebar disclaimer in large print so I will be satisfied that you have seen it:

All content on this site
that was created by me is
copyright 2003-2008
Brin-Marie McLaughlin.
Steal my stuff and I'll
squash you like a bug.

Anything else on these pages
including any comments
belongs to whoever created it.

This disclaimer exists because of things like what happened yesterday.

Within the construct of this particular diary, my rule is that the content of comments has always been the responsibility of the person who makes the comment.

---

Here's a news article containing the name of David Mortari, AKA the puppy-hucking Marine.

I didn't know his name until yesterday, when I asked for help in finding out what it was. I never asked for the address or other contact info.

However, since his identity and that of his family were already matters of public record, the info that Shani posted in yesterday's comments section was merely a rebroadcast, as opposed to something that had been ferreted out and exclusively disclosed here a la Prince Harry vs. The Drudge Report. If you Google his street address, you'll see that Shani's mention was one of over six hundred that had existed before she posted the info here yesterday.

I already told you and told you not to fuck with his family; I don't know how many more ways to say it before it sinks in. Leave his family alone.

But I'll tell you what. I'm trying to be reasonable about this, so I'll go ahead and let you decide what I should do about my own journal now.

My friends, Diaryland has a 'private entry' option, which puts the entry in a separate directory and the public readership doesn't even know it's there unless they've been invited.

I'm considering making yesterday's post private. And I'm more than happy to provide the private folder instructions and password to anybody who emails me.

As for letting yesterday's post stand but with removed comments?

I'm not going to do that.

With the exceptions of stuff like honoring email requests from commenters who say stuff like "Oh shit, I spelled that wrong; delete it so I can have a do-over", and regular maintenance a la getting rid of duplicates, I've removed comments completely from this Diary exactly *once* -- and for the time being, I've decided to let that policy stand.

However, as I said, I'll leave this up to you guys. I'll even boldface it here:

Do you want me to disappear yesterday's post into my private folder? Leave an answer in my comments section, please.

I also need to make something else perfectly clear: No matter what you guys decide you want me to do with yesterday's post, I'll still reserve the right to mention the first and last name of that creature as needed.

The way I see it, the problem isn't caused by distributing the guy's home address.

Rather, I think that by participating in this staged-or-otherwise VERY cruel and VERY unfunny stunt, David Mortari has already done a fine job of fucking over himself and his family.

A repost of an address that's already been public for years and years isn't gonna make a fart's difference in a strong headwind at this point.

As for any attempt at inferring that his animal abuse behavior is somehow dependent on the number or nature of tours he's been on, that's totally fucked and uninformed. My father spent most of the 1950s in the USMC, and my friend Robbie even went to Desert Storm. Neither of these men would have ever thought of doing this to a puppy, not even faking or in jest. The amount of service has absolutely nothing to do with whether somebody eventually chooses to abuse animals.

Animal abuse, or even pretense of same in the name of humor, is something that begins at an early age, and it's not something that's caused by multiple tours of military duty.

Something about David Mortari was very VERY wrong upstairs before he ever walked into a recruiting station.

And if he's capable of doing this or joking about this, frankly if I were a pet owner and lived in his town -- I might want to know where not to walk my dog.

Now then. Other than tallying results and doing what you guys want me to do, I sincerely want to be done talking about this.

---

From FARK: Jeff Conaway, in a wheelchair, brandishes a knife at Noel Gallagher, who has been drinking absinthe.

Where? Why, backstage at a Marylin Manson concert, of course.

This is one of those wacked out stories that is so full of fail, one has no idea where to start.

Sigh.

---

Okay, here be some more questions...

21. Who is the last person you wrote a check to?
The Landlord.

22. Closest framed picture to you?
A Don Maitz painting with a rock formation behind it that looks like a limp weenie.

23. Last time you had someone cook for you?
John made strangled eggs for me a couple of weekends ago.

25. How many emails do you get in your inbox daily (excluding spam)?
Metric assloads. Which are different from Imperial assloads.

26. Last time you received flowers?
Last time I received flowers, I cried.

28. Do you play air guitar?
No, but I play a raging air triangle.

29. Has anyone ever proposed to you?
Had to beat em off with a stick. After which time the proposal was offered. But, yes.

30. Do you take anything in your coffee?
"Cream in your coffee?" "No, not recently..."

Okay, more questions will be answered tomorrow!

---

That's it. Thanks in advance for your feedback.

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.