Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

Beltane 2008 & Sugar Babies

Thursday, May. 01, 2008 - 12:06 a.m.

Happy Beltane, and now begins the merry month of Maying.

It's off to a roaring start for me, anyway.

---

The Landerman genetics came forward again.

Landerman is my maiden name.

Members of my family tend to have odd things happen to them. The universe either takes care of us or makes fun of us. It can't make up its mind.

---

My little brother once had a drunk robin trying to pick a fight with its own reflection on his bedroom window.

The robin was drunk from eating fermented pyracantha berries. The bushes had turned into Pyracantha Cantina and the robins and more than a few bluejays had a really good time and crapped all over everything in site -- and for around ten days or so, woke my poor brother up every morning at around five am with the flurry and collisions against the glass.

Jon went to school and told his teacher why he was so tired. The Teacher actually made this a field trip, and marched all twenty some of his classmates down to stand in front of our house and look at the dumbass birds.

---

Once, during one of my father's solo sojourns to Reno, he picked a middle of nowhere halfway between Reno and Yuba City coffee shop to stop and stretch, and have a cup. He goes in, sits down in a booth, and starts getting an earworm for this obscure folk song. There's only like, two other people in the whole place, including the cook, so Dad starts humming to himself.

The waitress, a big pretty youngish thing with mouth braces and a plaid flannel shirt and jeans, comes up with the coffee pot and says, "Hey, mister, whatcha singin?"

And Dad turns to her and says "Oh, I'm trying to remember the words to some old song nobody knows any more called 'The Frozen Logger'."

The waitress lit up like a beacon and said "Just a minute!" and disappeared into the back room and came out immediately with a note pad. "Let me write down the words for ya!" and plonked herself down into the booth across the table from Dad and wrote the words down. (Here they are, fwiw...)

---

So last night, I got an odd one. The Universe made fun of me in a way I'm not going to forget for awhile.

About a week or so ago, John and I were sitting here in our chairs, watching a movie and all of a sudden, John wanted some Sugar Babies, in a box, like they have at the theatre.

I had no idea if those could even be purchased outside a theatre by civilians, but I took a look and found a source on Amazon, and ordered a box.

Wednesday, a package arrives from the Sugar Babies candy source. I don't touch it until John gets home.

John gets home. I tell him that the box is for him and to open it and enjoy!

He opens it. Guess what's in the box? -- a pair of TOY HANDCUFFS!

John looked down at the box and looked at me and down at the box again.

Sort of that weird fatal looking glance the coyote gets as he falls off the cliff holding the yipe! sign.

He takes a breath and says "Hon?.. Um. Something's really really REALLY wrong here!..." and shows me the contents of the box.

I am mortified and confused.

We dither around and find the packing list and begin to try to figure out what's happened. Somewhere out there, a girlfriend has ordered a pair of toy handcuffs to arrive at her boyfriend's house. The lucky son of .... I mean, the boyfriend has a last name spelled nearly identically to mine.

The mailing label addressed to ME was placed on the box containing HIS handcuffs.

I wrote an email to the candy company, and am now waiting for a response -- but I can't help wondering if that poor dude ended up with a horny email from his girlfriend asking if a package arrived today, and whether or not he's going to thank her for the lovely box of Sugar Babies.

Hopefully this will straighten itself out.

---

So there you go. Have a lovely Thursday, and if you observe it, a blessed Beltane.

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.