Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

Well, Do You, Punk?

Friday, Jun. 13, 2008 - 12:38 a.m.

I got the Brady Bunch episode on tape which features the appearance of Christine Baranski some thirty eight years ago; I'll try various methods of securing some stills and let you know how that turns out.

---

Today is Friday The 13th.

There are actually people who have a genuine fear of this day, which astonishes me, since I tend to fly in the face of convention.

Today, if I can find one that's small expendable, I'll break a mirror.

I'll also step on cracks, and I'll be extra nice to any black cats today.

I do plan to travel soon, even though not today, but at least I'll be travelling on a relatively friendly airline with no unlucky logo.

---

I got a letter from one of the regular people who sends me things: (Please pardon strange word wraps)

I hope this email does something to get us all involved, this is just wrong on so many levels...
As I had even been told local papers chose to not get involved as to not upset there minority readers?
School Officials did not do anything either at the time!

Celebrate YES you just Graduated, but desecrate the flag and the country that gave you the education?

GOD BLESS AMERICA (I guess they already finished their English homework!!!

Protestors at Montebello High School took the American flag off the school's flag pole and hung it upside down while putting up the Mexican flag over it.

I predict (HOPE) this stunt will be the nail in the coffin of any guest-worker/amnesty plan on the table in Washington . The image of the American flag subsumed to another and turned upside down on American soil is already spreading on Internet forums and via e-mail.

Pass this along to every American citizen in your address books and to every representative in the state and federal government. If you choose to remain uninvolved, do not be amazed when you no longer have a nation to call your own nor anything you have worked for left since it will be 'redistributed' to the activists while you are so peacefully staying out of the 'fray'. Check history, it is full of nations/empires that disappeared when its citiz ens no longer held their core beliefs and values. One person CAN make a difference.
One plus one plus one plus one plus one plus one........

The battle for our secure borders and immigration laws that actually mean something, however, hasn't even begun.

If this ticks YOU off...PASS IT ON!
IF IT DOESN'T IT SHOULD!

So I took a deep breath -- and I wrote back.

Despite his use of an Irish last name, I'll have you know my husband is of Mexican ancestry. He was adopted. His name at birth was John Espinosa. My best friend also has Mexican heritage, and his name happens to be David Marron.

If we didn't have workers in the fields who are willing to pick crops in the fields for twenty dollars a day during the summer, with no water and no bathrooms and no way to go rest in the shade -- our food would cost a lot more.

I am astonished at the complete absence of thanks and gratitude for the presence of Mexican nationals in this country who are willing to do the dirty work. If we're so all fired interested in making the immigrants return from whence they came, how come I never see any anti-immigrant feelings directed towards the hundreds of thousands of Dutch and Irish nationals who are here illegally? What's the difference? Skin color? And why aren't we native-born Americans out in those fields doing that terrible work instead?

So now I wait and see what response I get. I know what will happen.

My father was a peach inspector during the summer, and he said there were no harder working people on the planet than the Mexicans he worked with. My grandmother lived in a neighborhood where there were eventually Mexicans living on three sides of her, and they treated her with exquisite respect and gentleness and considered her their own abuela, and their love surrounded her like a big warm blanket for the last thirty years of her life. Personally I have never found a kinder, more funny, and more hardworking group of people than Mexicans. Any time I have ever traveled and there's been a Mexican standing next to me in line somewhere, a conversation is begun and food is shared.

The thing about the United States of America is that, despite feelings to the contrary? There's room enough for everybody, honest there is.

Amnesty programs are absolutely valid and neccesssary, and I hope the situation with immigration is remedied in a reasonable manner so they can stay here and continue to contribute to our culture.

I'm sick of the shit shovelers. If you don't want non-immigrant Mexican workers here, then speak with your wallet and don't ever buy fresh produce from anybody, anywhere, ever again.

Because uh-oh! Guess what?

Those goddam Meskins done layed hands on ALL OF IT.

---

All right, that's enough. Have a LUCKY DAY!!!!

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.