Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

Jamie's Birthday & Savage Savvy

Monday, Jul. 28, 2008 - 12:08 a.m.

First, happy birthday to Jamie Lord, aka The Best Friend I've Never Met, whose humanity and sense of right and wrong brought me back from the brink of giving up on these silly fellow humans, more than once.

Jamie -- thanks. I love you.

---

Okay.

I'm tired of what Michael Savage has said about autism.

I've got an idea. Let's replace him.

Let me introduce you to a guy named Mike Weiner. (with the long I).

Dr. Weiner has been an advocate of the health and well being of children for his entire life. He was raised with a brother who was brain-damaged, so he knows the goddamn difference between somebody who has genuine needs versus an abandoned sociopathically raised brat that the absentee parents are merely trying to medicate into submission. Mike Weiner holds a Master's degree in medical botany, and a Ph D. in nutritional ethnomedicine from UC Berkeley, and he's an advocate of getting children off of Ritalin.

Doesn't that sound like a better choice than Michael Savage?

Good. Do we want that guy on the air instead?

Then the best course of action is to STOP PICKETING.

It's the SAME MAN.

---

One of the most beloved men in my life right now has a child who has been diagnosed with a form of high-level autism, and out of love and respect for that friend, if he told me Dr. Savage had done more harm than good to the community of people dealing with this disorder, I'd switch radio stations in a red hot second.

He exaggerated ON PURPOSE so as to start a dialogue. He also apologized for the hyperbolic nature of the statements and has subsequently invited parents and doctors who deal with autistic children and adults to call in and educate both him and the audience.

Did you catch that? He APOLOGIZED. And people still want him fired.

How often does autism make the national news? Like, oh, say NEVER?

The most sigificant value Michael Savage has in my life is an an entertainer, and that's about it.

As for myself? I have had moderate learning disabilities all of my life, and I have also listened to Michael Savage for ten years, along the lines of Knowing One's Enemy. I listen because I can't figure out what in the name of heaven and earth he's gonna hold forth about next. He fascinates me like a bad car accident or a structure fire. And I've been listening to each and every talk show host with that perspective for most of my life, because when I was sixteen, my Radio & Television Broadcasting teacher, Jay Norton, told me that by default, everything you hear on the radio or see on the television is bullshit, and you should only be listening for its entertainment value, and that included most news broadcasts, and most talk radio.

And if you haven't listened for years and grown to understand a context and the particular manner of delivery?

Then you are standing out in the nasty weather holding a picket sign just like you did when you first heard Eminem.

---

Why isn't anybody protesting the fact that Jesse Jackson isn't in jail for making physical threats against a presidential candidate?

Oh? He said he was sorry? A moment of hyperbole uttered by a public figure is forgiven when an apology is offered?

In my opinion, it's hypocritical for one to be forgiven and not the other.

And of course absolutely none of the people standing out there with the picket signs have EVER used hyperbole to make a point.

Jesus Horatio Bald Headed Christ In A Doll Buggy.

---

That's it. Have a good Monday.

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.