Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

Spiralling Smog

Tuesday, Aug. 05, 2008 - 12:23 a.m.

A couple of things to report.

First -- yesterday at their behest via email, I went to the official Keane website and downloaded the first single released from their forthcoming third CD, Perfect Symmetry.

The single is called 'Spiralling', and it will be available for download until August 11th.

I have been a hardcore Keane fan ever since I heard them via the web on Virgin Radio UK in 2004. All of them are talented, handsome as the day is long, and one of my long-standing fantasies is to cook a decent meal for Tom Chaplin, their lead singer, and then forbid him to smoke anything in my living room. I loved their first CD, Hopes And Fears very much. I loved their second CD, Under The Iron Sea almost as much, and I have collected various Keane related memorabilia, including Hopes And Fears matchbooks, and posters and handouts at concerts, Hopes and Fears on vinyl LP, and ticket stubs and three different Keane T-shirts, and of course, their autographs on just about every relevent portable flat thing I had at my disposal whenever I got the opportunity.

But this single... THIS single, my friends... is going to take me a hell of a long time to learn to like.

Right now, to my undereducated American ears? It sounds like a Hall & Oates B Side.

From twenty-five years ago.

This is only my opinion, mind you, and it's possible things are colored by my seasonal malaise.

At least that's what I thought until I asked John what he thought of it.

My beloved husband says he thinks the Keane single, and I quote, "sucks big green donkey dick."

I hope for the sake of the band that the rest of the album sounds better that this example.

---

Second -- speaking of my seasonal malaise, I found something that I have actually been consciously seeking to do and enjoy.

No, not that, har dee har har, -- I'm going through my books from childhood and I'm enjoying them immensely.

I fart around here on the web an awful lot, but somehow it is different than curling up with a favorite book and reading for pleasure.

I'm perusing A Girl Of The Limberlost, and next I'll probably work through the Little House books again.

For those who have been emailing me and who understand the issues I face because my insides tend to synchronize with the weather outside, thank you. This book thing is already working. When John's workload eases up, I'll go downtown where there's sunshine and have a big long lunch with him. And you guys remember Cheri? She'll be here in a couple of weeks for a visit, so that will be nice, too.

In the meantime, I'm aware that it's just a type of chemical imbalance, I'm basically okay, and John and I are now pricing lightboxes for me to prop up over here where I'm sitting when I'm online.

---

Finally, in the International Leg Pulling part of the news, China claims the Olympic participants will be safe.

I just saw one of the eleven o clock news shows reporting from there.

If the air looked like that over here, the word would come down that the air would knock you over the minute you walked out the door, and they'd invent a new label for the AQI that goes beyond maroon.

Dear China:

That's nice that you honestly think nobody will be blown up by a bomb, but don't you even try to tell me that a marathon runner will be safe in that shit. Thank you.

---

All right. Have a good Tuesday.

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.