Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

Cloubusting & Clarity

Monday, Sept. 01, 2008 - 2:34 a.m.

Good news in the retail therapy front, for those of you who give a tin whistle.

I found shirts in my size for nine dollars apiece in the colors I love.

Nice autumny stuff like teal, deep mustard yellow, and cranberry. mmMmMM.

And the apple green color, which I am now gravitating to in order to offset my malar rash, is on sale for six dollars.

Tah Dah!

---

I found an article about theatre popcorn over on the BBC news site.

In my NTBMFHO, I think cell phones AND popcorn should both be discouraged during the showing of a movie.

---

By the way... I owe Rosie an apology so here it is!

Something has happened of my own doing that I need to apologize for, and I wanted to do it right here in my own blog, as well as over in the comments section of Casa Rosie's diary.

About a week ago, I posted a comment at the end of a month-old post, in a blog I'd never seen before, about my financial participation in what seems to have become known as The Zipper Rescue Mission. I thought I was chiming in, but apparently it had not the effects of chimes, but instead that of an old rusted cowbell, terribly out of tune.

Rosie quoted my comment in her diary, and although it's not the complete comment, this is the part that she was upset with, so I'll follow her lead:

Now then -- what I have *never* received from Rosie, or even been offered, is a specific accounting of how my three hundred fifty dollars was spent. Since Art did not have a bank account, did not keep the books, and did not make the drive, I expected an accounting from the person who *did* use a bank account, and who *did* spend the money -- an accounting which I have yet to receive. This is *not* an unreasonable thing to expect, and if I had been the one to spend three hundred fifty dollars of another person's money, an accounting and a pile of photocopied receipts would have been wending their way the moment I'd been finished the task for which the money was provided. And mind you, this would have happened out of simple courtesy, whether or not a specific request for accounting had been made. I should not have had to remind Rosie to account for how my money was spent; it should have been offered to me and to anybody else who trusted her with the funds. A telephone conversation is only as good as the air it's written on, so I can't prove the fact that what I was promised on the phone differs drastically from what's actually happened, so I am choosing not to mention the specifics. It's a sad situation all around, but I have already realized that I'm lucky to have had anything paid back at all compared to the majority of the other people who gave money. All we can do is move on from here, and from here on out, I'm content to wait and see, between the two, which one is going to pay me back soonest. I already have a feeling in that direction, but I'll save that guess for another time. Anyway, thanks for letting me chime in here. :-) xoxo Brin McLaughlin, aka Bindyree

My friends, I want to publically apologize here and now for saying something that leads people to believe that Rosie owes me any money about this. She does not owe me one cent. Other arrangements have been made, having nothing to do with Rosie at all, and over a month ago I told her she didn't have to worry about it.

In the body of my comment, I mis-spoke. I posted my comment in haste, on what I honestly thought had been a dormant blog judging by the month-old comments there, and it was inaccurate in a way that has caused hurt, embarrassment and confusion in several circles, which is ironically what I was actually trying to clear up.

But, fuck me running, I managed to do the polar opposite.

I also failed to be explicit in my requirement for Rosie to keep receipts. I just assumed that when handling a chunk of money that doesn't belong to you, you keep receipts in case you are ever asked for them, and that you don't throw them away for any reason, even if a debt has been repaid or forgiven. That's something I was taught in my basic accounting and tax preparation class, but it's come to my attention that not everybody took a class like that in school. :-) I've managed to find trouble in more than one corner by assuming anything about anybody, and I've done it again here. Again, my apologies. From now on, I will have no choice but to spell things out, and it's a lesson I've learned thoroughly.

So, that's the long and the short of it, at least I think it is.

Rosie apologized for not providing a full accounting before now, and I accepted it.

---

I also learned from various sources, who's a shit-stirrer and who is not. Rest assured, I'm heeding what I've been told!

---

As of this writing, I feel like something nice is imminent. Can't quite put my finger on it, though...

Like the sun coming out--
Ooh, I just know that something good is gonna happen.
And I don't know when,
But just saying it could even make it happen....

So we'll see.

---

That's it. Have a good Monday.

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.