Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

Eat Here / Get Gas

Thursday, Oct. 16, 2008 - 12:16 a.m.

Today is World Food Day.

This year's theme: "World Food Security: the Challenges of Climate Change and Bioenergy"

How about this year everybody figures out what a stupid waste of food AND energy it is to burn corn derivatives in a gas tank.

---

The latest episode of South Park is among my favorites of all time, for reasons obvious and otherwise.

It's been a very long time since an episode has been this appealing to me, and this one rocked on a multitude of levels.

Full of win.

---

Klepped from Jamie over on LJ...

Name and middle name?
Brin Marie

What holiday is your birthday closest to?
Easter

Favorite flavored pie?
Pumpy Kin

Does it bother you when someone says they will call you and they don't?
Of course it does. Peckerheads, the lot of them.

Are you allergic to anything?
Penicillin and housework

Is there something special you want for Christmas?
World peace -- and a pony!

When was the last time you went swimming?
Probably some time during the Reagan Administration.

Do you like cheesecake?
Yes, especially sprinkled with cinnamon and drizzled with caramel.

How many of the US states have you lived in?
California, with minuscule forays to Idaho and Washington.

Have you traveled outside the country?
Canada and Mexico.

Do you keep a planner or calendar with daily events?
No!

Does anyone like you?
The woman in the mirror, now and always. Everybody else? It's up to them!

Do you have any strange pets?
Stuffed bunnies.

What is your dream car?
The one we own! Ain't we lucky sonsabeeches?

What did you do today?
The square root of dick. I do it well.

Are you bipolar?
Wouldn't surprise me in the least.

What is the main ringtone on your cell?
It's called 'Vintage Telephone' and it garners attention from people over thirty years of age.

Where would you want to go on a first date?
I heartily recommend Disneyland.

When is the last time you were hugged?
After I rubbed John's back.

Has anyone ever sang or played for you personally?
Yes, Old Buddy Dave, and our friend Bob Chance.

How important is romance?
I would say it's in the top five, but a sense of humor and a solid friendship have to come first.

Have you ever bungee jumped?
Once, illegally, with an ankle harness. Did you know that in some instances when you have ankle-bungeed, the up-snap is so hard it pulls your stomach acid up into your nose if you lose your concentration on not letting that happen? Yeah. Good times.

Have you ever been whitewater rafting?
Nope.

Has anyone ten years older than you ever hit on you?
Hubby is eleven years my senior. Neener.

Are you a cavity free kid?
I have holes in my head to this very day.

Are you an extreme racist?
No, I'm only a *moderate* racist. What the fuck kind of fucking stupid loaded question is this??!??

What song are you listening to right now?
The last song I listened to all the way through was "The Adventure" by Angels and Airwaves.

What is your favorite song at the moment?
I currently like "Angels on the Moon" by Thriving Ivory. Here is the chorus:

Don't tell me if I'm dying
Cause I don't wanna know
If I can't see the sun
Maybe I should go
Don't wake me 'cause I'm dreaming
Of angels on the moon
Where everyone you know
Never leaves too soon

What was the last movie you watched?
The Lion, The Witch, & The Wardrobe. Very pretty! Love dat Weta Workshop!

Where was the last house you went besides your house?
Old Buddy Dave's digs in Anaheim.

Have you ever seriously vandalized someone else's property?
I broke a mirror on the last car we owned, but it was an accident. If you mean on purpose? Yes.

Have you ever been punched?
I gave Kevin Standlee a bloody nose at Westercon in 1990. He'd grabbed my arm. Don't ever grab my arm. :)

What's the first thing you notice about the opposite sex?
Eyeballs.

Can you open a beer bottle with a body part other than your hand?
Nope. In fact, I don't think I've ever opened a beer bottle for myself by any means in my entire life.

What do you usually order from Olive Garden?
I have never been to one.

Say something totally random about yourself?
John says my nail polish fumes get to me... at least I think that's what he said. Hard to concentrate with all of these bats flying around in the living room.

Do you have an mp3 player?
An iPod Shuffle named 'Wurlitzer'.

Has anyone ever said you look like a celebrity?
I got a couple of Marie Osmonds when I was in high school, but these days, I'm my own celebrity, and this is how it should be.

Do you have freckles?
Yes, and you wouldn't believe where, either.

Are you comfortable with your height?
Yes.

Do you love someone?
Of course.

How tall are you?
I'm just under one Smoot.

Do you speak any other language other than English?
Very limited conversational Spanish, some ASL, a few dirty words in Dutch, and LOLspeak.

How do you like your steak cooked?
Medium Well

Has anyone you were really close to passed away?
Yes.

Do you watch MTV?
I found something on one of the music channels a while back where a bunch of nasty women were yelling and throwing punches; later I found out the name of that show was 'Charm School'. Go figure!

What is something that really annoys you?
Surveys more than forty questions long. Oh, and progress bars.

Have you talked with your parents about the birds and the bees?
I think I finally talked to mom about some stuff when I was in my twenties. I don't know nuthin bout birthin' babies.

What is the best thing in your refrigerator right now?
The testicles of my ex-husband. Okay, just kidding -- Diet Coke. Although if his balls were really in there that would be cool. Get it? Cool?...

When is the last time you had professional pictures taken?
The Buzz Lightyear ride at Disneyland, although I have a feeling that doesn't count.

Do you have a crush on somebody?
What is this, seventh grade?

Does that person like you back?
I haven't the slightest idea.

Do you drive when you go on long trips?
Nope. I fly.

What's the latest you have ever stayed out?
I've been married too long to grasp that concept anymore.

Have you ever thought that you were honestly going to die?
Duh, we're ALL gonna die, honestly or otherwise. If you mean imminently? You betcha.

Were you ever rushed by an ambulance into the emergency room?
Yup. Other than that being deathly ill thing, it was awesome.

Have you broken a bone or had stitches?
Yes, semi-shattered face below the nose, and yes, stitches.

Anyone on your mind right now?
You were always on my mind.

What color is your hair?
Ash brown with more and more snow on the mountain.

What did you do last night?
Filled this out.

You guys can pilfer this if you want to.

---

Congratulations to Leanne Marshall, the winner of Season Five of Project Runway.

This was the last show for Bravo; PR will switch to Los Angels and Lifetime for its next season.

---

I taped the debate. I'll be studying it during the week and filling out my absentee ballot over the weekend.

---

That's pretty much it. Have a good Thursday!

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.