Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

Proposition 8 Truth

Wednesday, Oct. 29, 2008 - 7:59 a.m.

I caught an episode last night of the latest Bochco show, 'Raising The Bar' on TNT.

With Mark Paul Gosselaar, with longer hair, AND Currie Graham, this is a double whammy for me.

---

I am about to do a boring thing here for my out-of-state readership, so if you're not interested in state politics, stop now.

---

As my regular readers will recall, I have had back-and-forth 'frank exchanges of views' with my father-in-law; he's a pretty good guy, and a recent re-converted Catholic -- but I'm trying to figure out his or anybody's reasoning behind voting in favor of Proposition 8. He sent me the propaganda that the out-of-state religious organizations created and are propagating, and instead of addressing him directly (which works more than half the time, actually, bless his heart, but this keeps happening so I'm gonna take it easy on him about this; to paraphrase Cosby, he's an old person trying to get into Heaven now) -- I'm going to use some of the points in his email as the basis of today's post.

Proposition 8 is the proposed amendment to the state constitution that would rescind the rights currently extended to all consenting unrelated adults here in California.

Here is the text of the proposition, in its entirety:

PROPOSITION 8
This initiative measure is submitted to the people in accordance with the provisions of Article II, Section 8, of the California Constitution.

This initiative measure expressly amends the California Constitution by adding a section thereto; therefore, new provisions proposed to be added are printed in italic type to indicate that they are new.

SECTION 1. Title
This measure shall be known and may be cited as the �California Marriage Protection Act.�

SECTION 2. Section 7.5 is added to Article I of the California Constitution, to read:

SEC. 7.5. Only marriage between a man and a woman is valid or recognized in California.

That's all it says. And the religious organizations who are behind the Yes On 8 people are financing advertising that is spinning quite the tall tale. In other words, they're lying, which if I look right here in my Bible, seems to be forbidden by God, right here the Ten Commandments. Uh-oh, spaghetti-o!

In the text of the proposition, there is nothing stated about whether gay marriage will be taught in schools, nothing about whether gays will compel church officials to marry them, nothing about whether gays could sue organizations or individuals over personal beliefs. There are already anti-discrimination laws in place here in California -- which would ironically favor the people getting sued.

I happen to have lived in San Francisco for the entirety of my married life. I can heartily assure anybody who is worried about it that absolutely none of the minuscule amounts of unpleasantness we've been through has been influenced by any homosexual cooties we may have inhaled or acquired by rubbing against fairies during a bus ride. (If you don't know I'm kidding about this last, please remove me from your list of reads immediately. Thank you.)

I do have to wonder what else will make it onto our state ballot in the future in the name of religion, though: Will the Puritans sponsor legislation that will make it illegal to extinguish any burning building struck by lightning because it was God's will that the building be set on fire?

Gving women the right to vote didn't change the voting process for men. Giving gay couples the right to use the word 'marriage' to describe their unions is not going to change the marriage process for straight couples.

Only those who are unsure of the strength of their relgious beliefs would feel threatened by something so benign.

John and I voted absentee -- and with thanks to him for giving me permission to say so -- we both voted NO on Proposition 8.

---

Okay, I'm done. Have a good Wednesday.

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.