Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

JFK and CEOs

Saturday, Nov. 22, 2008 - 12:49 a.m.

Today is the 45th anniversary of the passing of John F. Kennedy.

The last of the Kennedy brothers, Ted, who is probably not long for this world, has repeatedly said that our president-elect reminds him very much of John.

Let's hope the analogy isn't carried too far.

If you are inclined to do so, pray for Ted, and please PLEASE pray for Barack Obama.

---

When I got wind of the story about how the Automotive Industry CEOs had taken private jets to the beg-for-money meeting in Washington DC, I couldn't decide whether to laugh or to cry. What's the matter with those men? How out of touch have they become? I keep thinking of the late Anna Nicole Smith on the witness stand beggiing to be a part of her late husband's estate while wearing a shirt that had 'Spoiled Rotten' written on it in rhinestones.

I sure as hell know what would have looked a lot better:

If any one of those CEOs had taken their most gas-efficient car, and spent the day before driving from Detroit to the meeting in Washington DC, and presented a workable business plan that consisted of "I drove five hundred and thirty miles here from Detroit in our Gas Sipping DinkyMobile for less than forty dollars, and we're gonna put fifty thousand more of these into the hands of consumers with the money we get by subsidizing the cost of this car by ten thousand dollars for every SUV that's traded in" -- and then insisted on a one dollar a year annual salary for as many years as it took to reach that goal --

That would have probably made the difference between a yes and a no.

I guess those guys forgot to take their Lee Iaccoca pills this year or something.

---

Not a lot else to write about today. Have a great weekend; the weather promises to be amazing in my area and I'm going to take advantage of that and try and get outside for the first time in a week.

Have a great Saturday!

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.