Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

Good Sunday Practice

Monday, May. 04, 2009 - 2:31 a.m.

Yesterday, my hair was frizzy before I left home.

It got frizzier in the snotty fog we were having, when I left the car to walk to the Ferry Building.

The snotty fog kind of yielded for a few moments, so I boarded the inside deck of the Ferry with not so much frizz and smears on my glasses.

However, once we got on the ferry and neared Vallejo, much hell was to be had, thanks to the participants of the Great Vallejo Race.

Most of the boats observed the meeting and passing courtesies, but at least one of them was nearly capsized in the wash of the ferry, despite the fact that the rules of the road are common knowledge and expected to be followed.

If you own a yacht and don't know your left from your right, hire a crew that does. Please.

Otherwise, things like the Ferry staff member yelling "Oh geez, what an ASSHOLE" at the nearly-colliding seacraft will keep happening.

---

But somehow, the painicked but exemplary crew managed to avoid trouble and we docked.

I disembarked, Alan found me just fine, and he listened to me decompress during the drive back to Vacaville.

As is fairly often the case during the drive, I also subjected him to the contents of my iPod.

There were songs from the band's set list, plus a few others, and the drive was quick. He made a side trip to try and stop by his favorite little music store, but, rats, it's closed on Sundays now.

So we went through the St@rbux drive-thru and 'feened up and headed to his place for practice.

---

When I got there, I was greeted by Miranda, who was home sick from school last week with That Other Thing That's Been Going Around That Isn't The Swine Flu But Makes Everything Inside Somebody That Isn't Fastened Down Leave From The Attic Or The Basement At Speeds Equal To Or Greater Than Those Expected To Be Achieved By The Hadron Collider When The Darn Thing Gets Fixed.

But she's feeling better, and approached me with a bag from Disneyland.

Alan and Deanna had gone down there for a weekender, and they'd gotten something for me!

The fact that they'd had time to do this was lovely, but the gifts themselves were so perfect that perfect doesn't even begin to cover it.

Alan had chosen a pair of classic, wear-with-anything birthstone earrings for me -- and Dee had chosen a charm bracelet.

She had no way of knowing this, but a bracelet, specifically a charm bracelet, was always the gift of choice among the women in my immediate family. When my mother died, my father gave me her jewel box, and her charm bracelets are the most valuable items of jewelry I possess, based on the history they hold.

I now own a silver charm bracelet with a rhinestone Mickey Mouse, and from now on, I'll investigate the charms available whenever I go to the House Of Mouse.

And Miranda was the first person to fasten it around my wrist. Too cool.

---

Drummer Tom and Guitar Kevin arrived, and soon, practice began. Mike Bassist had a gig, so he couldn't join us that day.

This time, my background vocals were not quite so murky; my strategy was twofold:. 1. Hold the microphone in my hand and put the darn thing right on my mouth instead of singing into it while it's dangling off of the end of a stick, and 2. Sing the living daylights out of everything, starting from the diaphragm and pray like crazy that the high notes don't crack like safety glass.

Rumors indicate that everybody there actually heard me this time. :-)

---

Anyway, after practice ended officially, Alan and I dithered around with a few more songs and then had dinner and headed out.

Traffic was merciful and the scenery was as scenic as usual, and the drive was safe.

Thanks to Alan and Deanna and the girls and the band -- twas a great visit and a great practice.

---

That's it. Have a nice Monday.

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.