Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

News From My Bro

Thursday, May. 06, 2010 - 12:46 a.m.

John and I are enjoying seeing intelligent celebrities on Jeopardy this week.

They are rarer than hens' teeth and a joy to behold.

---

My brother, who is a teacher and lives in Oroville, California, wants people to know about the following case:

Did you know there is a convicted rapist -- specifically, a man who has admitted to having sex with a sixteen-year-old girl -- whose name is not going onto any sex offender registries?

Read the following story and try not to punch your monitor:

OROVILLE -- A judge Wednesday granted probation to a former Las Plumas High School Navy Junior ROTC instructor who admitted having sexual relations with a 16-year-old student.

Glenn Bruce Blakey, a retired U.S. Marine Corps gunnery sergeant and decorated combat soldier in Iraq, will not have to serve more time in jail beyond the year he has already spent in custody, nor will he be required by the court to register as a convicted sex offender.

Finding Blakey's sexual trysts with the teenage girl appeared to be an isolated situation, "initiated" by his student, Butte County Superior Court Judge Robert Glusman stated the former ROTC instructor "doesn't pose a danger to others, except, perhaps, foreign enemies."

Deputy district attorney Lynda Hunt was upset the ex-teacher would "attach any blame" to the victim.

The prosecutor reminded the judge the teenage girl was having trouble at home and sought help from an instructor, who she looked up to and eventually developed a crush over.

According to the prosecutor, the ROTC instructor picked up the girl from her home a couple of times a week over a three-month period and took her to a wildlife refuge in Oroville, where the two had consensual sex.

"He was a teacher and he violated a position of trust and took advantage of a vulnerable 16-year-old girl ..." the prosecutor stated at Blakey's sentencing Wednesday.

After initially denying the allegations and being placed on administrative leave with the high school, Blakey pleaded no contest in December to separate felony counts of unlawful sexual intercourse and oral copulation with a minor in return for additional charges being dropped.

Prior to imposing sentence, the judge committed Blakey to undergo a 90-day diagnostic evaluation at a state prison facility.

Two prison officials submitted differing opinions to the court regarding whether Blakey represented a danger to other minors.

A court-appointed psychologist who examined Blakey concluded he would not be a danger to re-offend.

An attorney, standing in for Blakey's normal counselor, indicated at the outset Wednesday he would request a postponement so the other lawyer could be present, if the judge indicated an intent not to grant probation or require sex offender registration in the case.

Hunt argued Blakey "needs to be watched" as a matter of public safety.

But the judge said he was exercising his lawful discretion in not ordering the defendant to register with local police agencies.

Glusman said it appeared the teenage victim had been "the moving party ... she initiated the sexual contact" although Blakey "was still completely responsible; he's the adult in this situation," the judge added.

Blakey was placed on three years probation and sentenced to 365 days in jail, though the judge noted he had already served the entire time prior to sentencing.

Asked by the judge how he felt about the 90-days he spent in prison, the bespectacled defendant replied: "It's something that I don't ever want to repeat."

Just for grins and giggles, let's give Glenn Bruce Blakey a benefit of a doubt, and assume that the shrink is right and that he will never do this again, and will never pose a threat to others. Fine. Let's go with that.

He's still a convicted rapist. He's still guilty of having sexual relations with a minor.

For these reasons alone, it is my opinion that he should be required to register as a sex offender.

Now then, if he or any of his gaggle of minions have been vanity googling and have found his name and my comments and want to contact me? Go right ahead.

I'll print EVERY communication I receive, complete with ISP paths. If you send me anonymous threats, I use very good server tracing software, and can find your point of origin in about ten seconds and file a complaint to your provider as well as inform the FCC of any harassment. The FCC is a very humorless bunch of pointy-heads whenever the Internet is used for such childishness.

Besides, Glenn Bruce Blakey did take an oath when he joined the Marines, the first portion of which reads:

I do solemnly swear that I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States against all enemies foreign and domestic..."

So if he's REALLY an honorable guy, he himself will defend my right to distribute the information about the case, and to express my opinion about the ruling.

---

All right, that's it. Have a good Thursday.

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.