Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

Barbie Bug

Friday, Jul. 30, 2010 - 6:03 a.m.

Anne Rice recently made the following announcement on her Facebook page:

I quit being a Christian. I'm out. In the name of Christ, I refuse to be anti-gay. I refuse to be anti-feminist. I refuse to be anti-artificial birth control. I refuse to be anti-Democrat. I refuse to be anti-secular humanism. I refuse to be anti-science. I refuse to be anti-life. In the name of Christ, I quit Christianity and being Christian. Amen.

Of all the people I know who call themselves Christian, I think I could name MAYBE about four that I actually perceive to be able to walk the walk and talk the talk. Meaning, all day, every day, with not a smidge of genuine hatred in their hearts because of their beliefs; living each moment with a Light and a Truth that is at least as indelible and unchanging on a spiritual level as their eye color is on a physical level.

Yes, it's true that not all Christians are bugfuck nutbags. Neither are all Muslims.

But it's also true that, throughout history, the Holy Bible is the one missive responsible for more deaths on the entire planet than any other piece of work, including the Koran.

What a thought-provoking statement she made, though, huh?

ERRATA: Whoops! I fucked up, even more spectacularly than I usually do.

About twelve hours after this entry was posted, Toren Smith dropped me a line about my sweeping statement regarding the Bible:

Wrong. That honor belongs, by a long shot, to the Communist Manifesto. And Mein Kampf is #2 on the hit parade. And it is also worth mentioning that while the excesses of Catholicism and Christianity have gotten a lot of ink spilled over them, ancient religions in the hands of the Persians, Romans, Mongols, etc have done a pretty damn good job of piling up the skulls. Just sayin', is all.

This was eye-opening to me, because that very statement about the Bible had been presented to me by a college instructor of comparative religion.

And he was a groovy guy, devoid of any symptoms of headupassery. Mr Hall was wrong, and by extrapolation, I was too. Sorry about that. Thanks, Toren!

--

As mentioned previously, I now own a used Barbie doll. I spent some money and bought a batch of used clothing and accessories for her so she's all set for a reasonable amount of money, but this week's shopping excursions online have shown me the following things:

1. My parents must have gone into hock; I had a Barbie house, along with about a dozen sets of clothing and shoes for her, and a car. I didn't appreciate this when I was a child. I do now.

2. As much as I appreciate the entrepreneurship that exists on eBay, I am pretty sure the people who expect me to pay hundreds of dollars for a pair of Barbie's sunglasses or high heels have got burlap around the ol' root ball.

3. I had no earthly concept of the cultism and moneysuck that the world of Barbie can encourage.

Mind you, I don't begrudge any collector anywhere, honest I don't.; several years ago I collected numerous international versions of Keane's Hopes And Fears CD, plus untorn concert tickets, the Hopes And Fears LP, and even a Hopes And Fears promotional matchbook. I get it.

I guess the Barbie Bug continues to elude me.

However, once in awhile, on just some random day when I'd come home from school, Barbie would be sitting on the pillow of my bed with a new hairstyle, or a new dress, courtesy of Mom.

So maybe it's here, but in a different form.

And I've come by it honestly.

---

Okay. Have a good Friday and I'll see you Monday.

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.