Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

Gingerbread, Angels & Bears, Oh My!

Tuesday, Jul. 29, 2003 - 6:17 a.m.

Well, my beloved husband survived his date with dentistry. They didn't have to do a lot of work, but the first shot still hurt like the dickens going in. He's fine, now.:)

---

Today and perhaps from now on, I officially feel sorry for everybody under the age of 35 who has not yet discovered the joys of older movies or old radio broadcasts. If you're wondering why your parents or your grandparents have seemingly gone bananas over the death of Bob Hope, go ahead and talk to them -- or better yet, go to your nearest veterans' hospital or retirement home, and ask those amazing history-filled residents what Bob Hope's work meant to them. They will only be too happy to fill you in. And bring a microcassette recorder, too. :)

---

Happy Gingerbread Man I was digging through my images folder, looking for a suitable replacement for the picture in my Diaryland profile -- I found one, thanks, when you get a moment, go have a look if you care to -- and found a scanned image of one of the anatomically correct gingerbread men I baked for the Erasure impostor last Thanksgiving, when I still thought I was overnighting baked goods to the people he was impersonating.

I have decided that since the people he was impersonating won't ever know how cute these things turned out to be -- or how delicious, she says humbly -- I thought I'd share the picture with y'all so we could have ourselves a nice laugh at What I Did For Love. :)

Speaking of which, the cumshot consists of powdered sugar mixed with eggwhite.

---

Last night, a door opened that I thought had closed forever with my father's death.

When my mother died in 1995, my father had always told me he'd had a memorial plaque created in her name and placed on the wall of one of the local cemeteries. He had her cremated, and her ashes were scattered. Unfortunately, I never knew where he had the plaque placed, in which cemetary. He was always nebulous when I would ask. Although he always maintained that he had done it, I could never pin him down as to the specific details, because he always seemed pained to be talking about her.

The thought of doing the research myself was always a painful and just plain old nerve-deadeningly horrifying prospect. Ring Ring "Hello. Nobody will tell me where my mother is. Do you have her?" is something I just never was able to bring myself to say to a total stranger, you know?..well, I mean, there's you guys out there, but you know what I mean. I mentioned this last night when I was speaking to Paul -- I'd been telling him about Mom's journal, and how important it was to preserve the family history somehow -- and then in the background, I could hear him typing on the computer. "How do you spell your mother's last name again?"... and then it hit me. Paul was taking the trouble to look up the area cemeteries. And he's going to place telephone calls until he finds my mother. I had not asked him to do this. When I realized what he was doing, I burst into tears. Paul kept saying not to worry about it, that it had piqued his curiosity, and that he'd tell me what he found, if anything.

Wow -- Angels are everywhere, aren't they? :)...

---

The Glass Teat has actually had decent offerings lately -- most recently, in the form of the Designing Women reunion. I never watched that show first-run, but am really loving it in reruns on the Lifetime network. Later this morning, one of my other favorite bands, Styx, is going to be on Regis and Kelly. And tonight, I'm going to see the next ep. of Queer Eye for the Straight Guy. Between you and me? I think Carson has a prediliction for bears.

That's cool. So do I. :)

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.