Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

Happy New Year

Thursday, Jan. 01, 2004 - 12:00 a.m.

First, a toast. "Champagne to my true friends, and true pain to my sham friends."

And now, onto yet another ubiquitous awards list!

---

My Best Of List for 2003

Best Video: "Hey Ya" By Outkast

Best New Toy: Astrojax Saturn.

Best Old Toy: A secondhand Titanium Powerbook.

Best Reason To Own A DVD player: The extras in "Finding Nemo" and the re-release of "A Christmas Story."

Best Online Universe: Diaryland. Well, duhhh.

Best Scenery: The Great Basin, just west of the Nevada / Utah border. Especially during sunrise.

Best New Elected Official: Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger.

Best CD (New): Damien Rice, "O"

Best CD (Classic) Kevin Braheny, "The Way Home", and Isao Tomita, "Kosmos" (tie)

Best Mug Shot: That old Ace in the Hole himself, Saddam Hussein. Although I wish I could see the one of Martha Stewart.

---

Awards

The Forces Of Nature Award: Scott Hysmith, my ex-fiancee whose encounter with Hurricane Isobel cleared my head about a bunch of stuff that he and I still needed to get settled. So we did. This nearly caused its own separate hurricane, but that's a story for another time.

The You Are My Sunshine Award: Cher1 H3ys3, who started reading my diary and has now become a dear friend who brightens my day.

The Naked Truth Award: JJ, for being able to write so simply and honestly, and for letting me take pictures of the artwork on her skin.

The Still Crazy After All These Years Award: Todd Thalimer, my online friend of nearly a decade with whom I reconnected in April, and whom I finally met in person for the first time in December of 2003. Also would receive Most Anticipated Hug award if I were awarding that award.

Oh what the hell --

Most Anticipated Hug Award: Todd Thalimer.

The Greatest Gift Award: Jamie Lord, who trusts and forgives me for involving him in crazy schemes that backfire, most notably the Erasure Impostor Adventure. ILY. YCM.

The Keep Looking Up Award: To Br1@n Cl@yt0n, who takes the time to make me look at the sky, and know my place.

The He Ain't Heavy, He's My Brother Award: To Jon Landerman, my younger brother. Unconditional love is something few people even try to bestow, but he's somebody who does.

The It Only Hurts When I Don't Laugh Award: To BoogityX2, whose very tilted view of this universe was one of the things that I relied on in the days following my grandmother's death.

The Cornerstone Award: To my husband John, who lets me experience life and then patches me up and sends me out again every time I come to him with an owwie. I don't know how you do it, hon, but I'm humbled. And I love you.

---

Things I Learned This Year From My Friends

One person's integrity is another person's shitheadedness.

Be careful what you have delivered to the office because your boss will open it.

Bi-coastal over-the-telephone, synchronized DVD movie dates are awesome.

It's possible to collaborate on a song over the telephone.

Trust is always a risk worth taking.

Ostrich meat is pretty darn good.

It's not wrong to need people. It IS wrong -- and also pretty impossible -- NOT to need people.

Life is like a box of chocolates -- sometimes too much of it makes you want to puke your purple guts out.

If you are a friend of my enemy -- you're not really my friend. Do the math.

---

Happy 2004, folks.

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.