Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

Friday Five / Friends

Friday, Feb. 06, 2004 - 5:32 a.m.

This week's Friday Five: (Questions are boldface, my answers appear beneath.)

What's the most daring thing you've ever done?

A: Defy my parents. In 1983, shortly before my 18th birthday, I was in the hospital, dying of ulcerative colitis, and the doctors were pleading with them to sign the forms to allow them to operate and save my life. They kept refusing, so I turned to the doctor and said 'Can you keep me alive until my 18th birthday?', and after receiving a yes, I said, okay, *I* will sign my *own* form. Then my folks looked at each other, then me, then they reached over and signed the form themselves, and I got my operation the next day.

What one thing would you like to try that your mother/friend/significant other would never approve of?

A: It's already happened. That thing last September. And for what it's worth, the gods didn't like it either, and oh BOY was I punished.

On a scale of 1-10, what's your risk factor? (1=never take risks, 10=it's a lifestyle)

A: It depends on what I'm doing. When it comes to people, I'll always try to take a risk and trust them. When it comes to actions, like riding something scary at the amusement park, I'll go stand over in the chicken coop with the parents waiting for their kids to finish the ride. Basically I live by the concept of doing my best to avoid activities in which I'll find myself with my asshole above my own head.

What's the best thing that's ever happened to you as a result of being bold/risky?

A: Well, hmmm. How about, being alive for another twenty-one years and counting. I'm glad that's happening. :)

And what's the worst?

A: That thing last September.

---

Okay. Now, if you wanna play Friday Five, go here.

---

I had a lovely day yesterday, which included a visit in the early afternoon with Dave Marron, and a visit later in the evening with Jamie Lord.

I also had a chance to work on my music.

Speaking of music, last night John surfed for something to watch while we ate Chinese takeaway, and found something on Bravo called 'A History of Reggae'. I don't remember the last time I saw something so interesting and informative on television. If you get a chance to see this documentary, please do.

I also struck a deal with Dave Marron, which was this: Dave is to go purchase a copy of 'Interstate 60', sight unseen, solely based on my word. If he doesn't like it, I'll buy it off of him, since there's a couple of additional people in my immediate circle who really really need to see it, especially the one who is on the verge of making the biggest career mistake in the history of humankind.

He'll know who he is when he reads this -- and will react accordingly if I know him, because the truth has a funny way of slapping him in the face particularly hard, especially after he's been avoiding it.

---

And finally -- John, thank you for the last potsticker. I know you like them at least as much as I do, so for you to do that is always so sweet.

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.