Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

Off Kilter Offsets

Tuesday, Nov. 27, 2007 - 12:50 a.m.

Our Board of Supervisors is nuts. The suggestion now is that we ban fireplaces from buildings.

This is ridiculous.

You guys remember when Mount Pinatubo exploded and threw its particulate matter up into the atmosphere where it stayed for many months? Did you all know the temperature around the world was LOWER because the sunlight was filtered?

The scientists need to make up their minds whether Burning Things cause global warming or they do not.

And I'm talking about real scientists as opposed to those tablefuls of assholes who sit around and wait to get paid to back up this theory or that with facts and figures that have been cooked to order.

---

Speaking of the global warming theory, and just in case you might think the McLaughlin household is made up of evil right-wingers who don't give a goddamn about the trees and water and polar bears -- I thought I'd list What John And I Are Doing For The Environment:

- We choose to live in a mult-unit apartment instead of a stand-alone building, because in that way, six families are making the just a little over the same environmental footprint as just one, building-marterials-outgassing-wise

- We choose to drive our vehicle between four and five thousand miles per year. John's run the numbers and discovered that a well-maintained non-hybrid automobile which is driven less than five thousand miles a year is more friendly to the environment than a hybrid vehicle run three or four times as much.

- The rest of the time, we choose to take electric public transit in the City and County.

- In ten years, we have not turned on our heat in the wintertime, with the exception of the little wall heater, ten minutes at a time, only during the coldest days, and only immediately after a shower. Instead, we do that old fashioned thing that used to work wonderfully for me when I was located up in the Idaho Panhandle with no electricity and no other fuel: We bundle up!

- We do not have air conditioning. The fans we use the most have had timers on them.

- We recycle about sixty percent of our waste through the Sunset Scavengers and our deliberate choice to turn in our aluminum cans, and re-use plastic bags whenever we can.

- We only use the top of the stove for our cooking. We prefer the ease and location of the toaster oven. We *could* get the oven element repaired, but we don't miss it any more.

- John works all day, every day, to save the environment and make sure the world is as environmentally restored and free of pollutants as possible. Do you know what he does for a living? He's an environmental claims consultant. What he does -- every working day of his life -- is make sure that toxic spills are cleaned up and the place that received the spill is restored to its previous non-polluted condition. And oh, by the way, for whatever this is worth -- carbon offsets are NOT allowed as part of the recompense / cleanup process, because as of this writing, they are not stringently monitored or universally set enough to be an acceptable component of an insurance settlement. In short, within the parameters of one of the real and completely verifiable instances of taking care of the environment, namely the monitored and highly structured environmental cleanups and restorations that are overseen by the insurance industry -- carbon offsets are seen as nothing but bullshit. This is not to say that they might one day be regulated properly enough, but as of today, it ain't happening.

All of you all out there who want to do your part to reduce your footprint, you go ahead and do whatever your conscience tells you to do.

But do it with correct information and not bullshit.

---

Anyway, I guess, if you haven't already deduced this, YES, I do comprehend the fact that the people in charge of our city are a bunch of raving left-wing lunatics. I wish we had more balance from that direction.

Heh. Like THAT will ever happen.

---

That's it. Have a good Tuesday.

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.