Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

Friday Five & Big Brown

Saturday, Jun. 07, 2008 - 12:25 a.m.

First, happy fiftieth birthday to Prince.

---

Just to see if there were any news stories about Disneyland, because it looks as if I'm heading down there again before the end of the month, I put that word into the Google News search, and found the following interesting article:

Levitating train from L.A. to Las Vegas gets boost

WASHINGTON (AP) � Plans for a levitating train from Las Vegas to Disneyland can move forward under a transportation bill signed by President Bush on Friday that frees up $45 million for the futuristic project.

Derided by critics as pie in the sky, the train would use magnetic levitation technology to carry passengers from Disneyland to Las Vegas in well under two hours, traveling at speeds of up to 300 mph. It would be the first MagLev system in the U.S.

The money is the largest cash infusion in the project's nearly 20-year history. It will pay for environmental studies for the first leg of the project.

The money had been delayed by a drafting error in Congress' 2005 highway bill, which was corrected along with some other changes by the legislation signed Friday by Bush. The delay had allowed a competing and cheaper diesel-electric plan to emerge as an alternative, but with the money now freed up supporters hope to move forward with the MagLev plan.

The train is meant to ease traffic on increasingly clogged Interstate 15, the main route for the millions of Southern Californians who make the 250-plus-mile drive to Las Vegas each year. There is no train on the route � Amtrak's Desert Wind between Los Angeles and Las Vegas was canceled in 1997 because of low ridership.

Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid, D-Nev., praised passage of the law, saying the MagLev project "will safely and efficiently move people between Southern California and Las Vegas."

This might be the right time for that sort of thing.

---

I'd just like to say for the record that I've had a crush on Gina Gershon for many years now, especially after seeing her in Bound.

But if she's been stupid enough to pork Bubba or let him put his tongue in her mouth?

That crush is history. I just... I dunno. Ewww.

---

Friday Five...

If you had to participate in one Olympic event what would it be and why?
I'd try the racewalk, because I think it's one of the few track and field events for women that doesn't shake their tits down to their navels before they turn fifty.

What is the one song you always sing along to?
There's an awful lot. Recently, probably the song Falling Slowly. Perpetually? Anything Keane.

Do you wear a seatbelt in the car?
Yes. It's against the law not to, and I've been in several major accidents.

Car, suv or truck and why?
NOYB.

Are you a good/bad driver? explain
I don't drive. I'm also occasionally a bad passenger.

Link to the left, etc.

---

I made a mistake a few weeks back. TODAY is the Belmont Stakes.

My digits are firmly juxtaposed for Big Brown to win, but I'll just be glad to see all of the horses finish the race safely.

---

Finally: The balm to ease your aching soul whenever you think you have had a bad day: FailBlog.

---

That's it. Have a good Saturday.

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.