Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

Postal Going

Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008 - 12:01 a.m.

Well, I got the counterfeit iPod mailed off on Monday afternoon.

It should have been Monday morning, but therein lies a tale.

I sleep with headphones on, because I have moderate tinnitus. That's the ringing in one's ears that sounds like a flyback transformer.

When I lived alone, and then when I lived with Kevin Standlee twenty years ago, I used to just put the radio on and the sound of it would effectively lull me to sleep.

This practice had to be discontinued when I married John McLaughlin because John is a light sleeper who needs full darkness and the sound of nothing but a fan for the first part of his sleep cycle. Once in a few generations, I can turn on my bedside light for a few moments if I come to bed when he's deeply asleep, but otherwise, those are the mandatory parameters.

So, I bought a small cheap pair of headphones, placed them on my head, found an extension cord I liked, plugged into the bedside radio, and learned to sleep with them on. I got my white noise, and John got his.

Today, I had set my alarm for 10:30 am.

I finally blargled awake around half past noon, and wondered what in the world had happened.

Then I saw where the headphones and the extension cord were disconnected.

Argh.

---

Anyway, I finally noodled around and got to the Post Office and mailed the fake iPod. It will be there on Wednesday, with a signature upon arrival, which constitutes delivery of the product, and then I can show this to PayPal and to the seller and get my refund.

I also sent something in care of General Delivery for the first time in my life. The woman at the post office, whose smiling countenance I have been aware of there for more than a decade, in a patently obvious combination of confusion and curiosity, questioned the address format. "You can send to General Delivery there without the street address?" she said. I had addressed the box as follows:

Person's Name c/o
General Delivery
Citiname ST XXX01-9999 (the X represents a disguised numeral.)

And I explained to the lady that yes, this should reach the recipient just fine. If a Zip Code ends in "01", that means it's a regional sorting center, to which all letters in the 'XXX' prefix are sent to be sorted. The Plus Four suffix of '9999' is an indicator that it's for general delivery.

For safety's sake, I got a tracking number and some insurance, though.

I will be watching my parcels to see what goes where and how fast.

---

When I got back from the post office on Monday afternoon, I turned on the television and caught a few minutes of the new series of Unsolved Mysteries. The new host is an actor whose work I have really come to enjoy -- Dennis Farina.

---

In this story, courtesy of FARK, we see that the Mormon Church kicked somebody out because they weren't making enough money from him.

Gee, that's funny. A tax-exempt organization like the enormously-moneyed LDS Church seems to be requiring a cash contribution in exchange for acknowledgement of church membership.

Can you say ILLEGAL, dear readers?... sure, I knew you could.

---

That's it. Have a good Tuesday.

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.