Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

Second Post Saturday

Saturday, Jun. 20, 2009 - 6:45 p.m.

My family is full of Mexicans. My husband is one-quarter Mexican, from his father's side. My brother-in-law Joey is Mexican and Italian. Old Buddy Dave, aka Dave Marron, is half Mexican. My friend Laura is Mexican. My friend Glenn whom I've known since Junior High is Mexican. And the people who lived on both sides of my Gran for the last thirty years of her life were Mexican families who adored and took care of her as if she were their own abuela.

Even though I do not have a measurable smidgen of Mexican blood in my body, I still consider myself at least a peripheral part of the Mexican-American community, through marriage, and through the friends and loved ones I have had through my entire life, and the understanding and appreciation of their ways. The Mexican culture has enlightened and enriched my life for the entirety of my existence, and will continue to do so for the rest of my days. In fact -- if Mexicans didn't do all of the cheap shitty labor involved in food harvesting here in California, then things like food banks and meal giveaways would not be able to exist due to the food being too expensive to give away to people who haven't paid for it.

Because of all of the above, I have chosen to suspend a friendship with Art Cee, who consistently uses the term "wetback" to describe Mexicans whom he perceives to be illegal if they don't happen to speak perfect English, or they smell better than him when he's trying to get a job.

It didn't just happen in the privacy of Art's blog, which is an area that is constitutionally protected and which I would proudly fight for the right for his words to stand as written because all blogs are sacred.

It also happened a number of months ago while I was on the phone and heard Art call a motel maid a "fucking wetback".

It can be argued that I should have just thrown in the towel on the friendship and made the break back when I heard Art curse at that maid and call her names when she hadn't done a thing to him. But no, I figured it was a thing said in the heat of the moment and I assumed Art couldn't possibly actually be as racist as he sounded. So, because I'm one of those people who will give anybody a second chance if a bad thing happens ONCE, I let it slide.

THEN I saw that phrase AGAIN in that person's blog, and I realized that this was an attitude that was pretty much irreversable, ever-present, and ingrained. And if it's being expressed at a time OTHER than sponateously yelling at a maid, it must therefore be part of that person's character.

So, as of this writing, the friendship has been suspended.

I sent an email requesting that a link in that blog which leads to my blog be removed. Lest there be ANY kind of rumor or misrepresentation taking place anywhere else, especially any incorrect or untrue things said by Art, allow me to share the content of that email:

Would you do me a favor and edit your main blog template so that the link to my blog is no longer featured there up at the top?

I flatly refuse to be associated in any way whatsoever in a blog that uses racist terms like 'fucking wetback' when my best friend, Dave Marron, is a Mexican.

Thank you. :-)

This link removal has happened, and I am appreciative. Art then placed a phone call to me in which he apologized for offending me. I regret not saving the voicemail, but there was a very nice apology offered.

This apology was NOT needed, as I am a big advocate of people NEVER having to apologize for expressing their true feelings and showing their true character and real nature.

However, with that said, I am a HUGE fan of being ACCOUNTABLE for racist remarks that take place as a matter of simple daily conversation.

When I went to check the blog to make sure my link had been removed, I then sent a thank you note to Art, which said:

Do not ever apologize for the content of your blog. It's YOUR BLOG. You have the right to say what you want in it, because it's YOURS.

However, by the same token, I have the right to distance myself from the content of the blog if I find it in complete opposition to my beliefs.

So, THANK YOU for removing the link to my blog.

And that, my friends, is the COMPLETE extent of email that I sent. I have NOT been rude, I have NOT requested removal of blog content other than the link to here, and that person is free to express themselves however they want.

But I am also compelled to distance myself from people who use racist terms, no matter why they think it's okay to use them. I even left a comment in Art's blog, clarifying my position:

You have the right to say whatever you want in your blog. It�s your blog, and we know exactly what kind of person you really are by what you write. Never apologize for the contents of this blog. I�ve said that a half a dozen times to folks everywhere. Now, whether people stick around and want to read what you write? That�s also a question of freedom of choice.

I have no idea if there have been any email responses, because their email address has been put on my spam list. It goes into a folder, and twice a day, the contents of that folder are destroyed.

So that's the latest.

I have no regrets, other than simply not figuring out sooner the extent of the alligators lurking in Art's sewer.

---

Have a good rest of Saturday.

Suddenly, mine will probably henceforth be spectacularly problem-free.

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.