Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

Drummer Is Go

Sunday, Aug. 02, 2009 - 1:39 a.m.

Okay, kids, it looks like we have ourselves a new drummer. Happy butt dance!

His name is Chris Coleman, he's just getting back into drums after a while away, and we're gonna keep him for the forseeable future. Walking in cold, today, with only about two thirds of the songs at hand (darn that iTunes / Beatles thing. Grr.), he actually did a really good job.

Our new lead guitarist, Todd O'Laughlin (no relation to me), was also a find; he's easy to work with, listens when Alan wants him to do something differently, and has been a real quick study even though most of the playlist consists of top forty material from twenty to thirty years ago he's never heard of, having been a hair metal guy. :-)

As was mentioned in yesterday's entry, I substituted on bass for our regular guy, Mike Kearney, who had a paying gig with one of the other three groups he works with. This was the most fun and grueling thing I have ever done. Mike is light years ahead of me in experience and talent, but it was fun to see if I could make it through the entire rehearsal.

The answer is yes -- but just barely.

Holy moses, I had cramps in my fret hand that forced my fingers into positions I never saw them in before. A couple of times, with horror, I realized I hadn't practiced the song enough to even fudge my way through, so I had to quiet the strings and let go of the wheel with both hands until the impossible-for-me-to-play part had passed.

For now, I think this is going to be the current lineup, though. Chris seems like a really good guy. He and Todd hit it off immediately and started discussing their gadgets, which was nice to see. At present, we don't have an inkling of when we could be seen in public; I think by September, we'll do images and sound for uploads somewhere. All very up in the air, depending on whether Chris wants to keep working with us. Theoretically, our goal still is to be gigworthy by the end of the year.

That's basically where things stand at this point, and overall, it was a really excellent day.

Okay kids, there we go. Have a good Sunday. Thanks to everybody who sent good thoughts!

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.