Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

See's & Survey

Thursday, Jan. 07, 2010 - 12:38 a.m.

John took Wednesday off and treated his sniffles and saw the chiropractor and picked us up two pounds of See's.

Overall, a good day.

---

I had the following end of year survey filled out and parked in the event I couldn't think of anything to write about.

Here goes.

---

1. What did you do in 2009 that you�d never done before?


Learned to play the bass guitar.

2. Did you keep your new year�s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?


No, I don't give a drippy shit about resolutions being set on a given date. They work best if you make your mind up to do them before you make them, and that doesn't need a calendar date.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?


No, but I think a couple of Young Fast Females in the family will be surprising us sooner than they should.

4. Did anyone close to you die?


Nope.

5. What countries places did you visit?


Anaheim. It's a small world, after all.

6. What would you like to have in 2010 that you lacked in 2009?


A decent haircut.

7. What dates from 2009 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

My 44th birthday because two of my favorite oldest guy friends were with me and they liked each other, too.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?


Regaining my music.

9. What was your biggest failure?

I'll never been neat or organized. The end.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?


Did you want that in alphabetical order or just as I think of them? :-P

11. What was the best thing you bought?

Bass guitar.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?


John for putting up with me.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?


My former friend Dan, who called the President of the United States a nigger and who wants to give him a tire necklace.

14. Where did most of your money go?


Ferry tickets and plane tickets.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?


My 44th birthday and that week.

16. What song will always remind you of 2009?


"Live Like We're Dying" as performed by Kris Allen

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:


a) happier or sadder? Happier.


b) thinner or fatter? same


c) richer or poorer? The same.

18. What do you wish you�d done more of?


songwriting.

19. What do you wish you�d done less of?


Crying.

20. How did you spend Christmas?


With the in-laws. There's times when I'd rather have a baby through my nose than deal with some of the people who carry that title, but this year went really nicely.

21. Did you fall in love in 2009?


Depends on your definition. I revisited agape love for old friends I hadn't seen in ages, including Big D, who didn't owe me a speck of kindness at all, so I'll say it's a qualified yes.

22. What was your favorite TV program?


Mad Men.

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn�t hate this time last year?

No, the list remains unchanged.

24. What was the best book you read?


The 4th edition of Managing Your Band

25. What was your greatest musical discovery?


Tie: Karl Blau / Tiny Masters Of Today

26. What did you want and get?

A bass guitar.

27. What did you want and not get?


A really good hair style.

28. What was your favorite film of this year?

Avatar.

29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I turned 44 and spent the first part of the day at Disneyland with Alan Brownlee and Dave Marron. Alan had just driven down the night before from Vacaville as a kind of semi-surprise. That breakfast at the River Belle was among the more memorable birthday observations.

30. What�s the one thing that made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Making music.

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2009?


Pajamas all day unless I have to go somewhere.

32. What kept you sane?


Diaryland, and my online community of friends.

33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?


Eesh, I avoided everybody but Chesley Sullenberger. Yay, Sully!

34. What political issue stirred you the most?

I'm glad the rest of the world enjoys our president even if we don't. And I'm glad that a certain pair of reverends who used to blather all the time about racism have chosen to cool their jets.

35. Who did you miss?


Tim Russert.

36. Who was the best new person you met?

Deanna Brownlee, although I technically knew Abby Peck online before I met her in person, so I'm declaring this a tie of sorts. :)

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2009.

Don't forget to put suncreen on your cleavage.

38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

"When your hands find / They're holding others too / All the hardships sail away / All the hardships sail away" -2 Become 1 by Karl Blau.

---

That's it.

Have a good day of Thor!

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.