Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

Final Post For Awhile

Saturday, Jul. 23, 2011 - 1:54 p.m.

Friends, this is my last post here in Diaryland for the forseeable future.

Lately I feel like I don't have enough patience or moxie to dive into the news every day and glean the things I think are worth talking about. There are so many other places that do a much better job of it than I have ever done anyway.

Amy Winehouse's demise was a sort of catalyst as far as this decision to take a break goes, because I've realized that writing about celebrity deaths is nothing but low-hanging fruit. I could do better, but I keep opting not to.

Another factor is my health, and my finite amount of energy. Every day, I ask myself do I want to sit down and read the news and write a diary entry? Or do I wanna work on my music, have realtime visits with my online friends, watch a DVD with John, or go fall down and sleep some more? As of late, those latter options have been what I end up doing.

There's something else I've learned as I've kept this diary or worked on music, and that's this: With any creative endeavor, there comes a time when you really kind of have to step back, see what things look like, and know when to stop. I really believe that this is that time. Time to take a big break from Diaryland.

Finally, I've come to realize that the main problem that made me create this diary to begin with -- namely my interaction with and mistake of trusting an internet stalker who was a master of Munchausen By Internet -- is something that is happening more these days, and not less. If anything, folks are more vulnerable and more prone to emotional promiscuity (both sexual and non-sexual) now than they were eight years ago when I started. My stalker is still at large, because there is still not enough legislation on the books to deal with this sort of abuse and fraud.

So I really have to wonder if this body of work has done very much good at all.

---

I still exist online, in the form of Twitter, and sometimes Facebook, so maybe I'll see you there.

So that's the skinny. I'm done with Diaryland until I feel like making an entry again, which might be a while.

In the meantime, my membership expires here in the early part of 2012; until then, barring any renewal or reignited interest on my part, I'll leave this diary up and available for anybody who wants to peruse the archives or look at the pictures.

---

Thank you SO much for reading.

I really do appreciate my regular readers, and am so glad you kept coming to see me.

---

Okay -- that's it. See you again somewhere.

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.