Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

Outlook Good For Naked Mole Rats

Monday, Jul. 21, 2003 - 7:48 a.m.

Ever since I got the webcam, I've been receiving IMs from complete strangers, literally begging me to see me, and to watch them while they're blowing tadpoles at the stars. Frankly, I would really rather skip all of that nonsense, so I put a picture of a naked mole rat in my Yahoo Profile, and changed the text there to reflect my feelings about shebopping on the webcam. So far, so good. :)

When I told Jamie what I had done, with the picture of the mole rat, he piped up and said "Oh, -I- remember that movie!"

I thought a minute, and finally said, "No, dear, a MOLE RAT. Not 'Mallrats'."

And he sort of laughed and said "I'm sorry I'm a ditz."

I also laughed and said "Oh, I'm not sorry at all. It's part of your charm."

Paul fared a -wee- bit better. Since he has two children under the age of thirteen, he knew what a naked mole rat was because of Kim Possible. "You mean there really are things called 'mole rats'? Not just in the cartoons?"...

---

I had a long one of Those Moments late last night, or early this morning, depending on what you call 2:30 a.m. in your neck of the woods. I deliberately played the Vince Clarke / Martyn Ware CD "Spectrum Pursuit Vehicle" to see what effect it has on me.

The good news is, I think I've turned the corner -- I'm progressing on my path away from the emotional upheaval I was put through at the hands of the impostor.

"Green - You Are In A Forest" still induces an overwhelming freightload of emotions. Those emotions are different each time, so, playing SPV has become sort of like shaking a Magic Eight Ball and waiting for the fortune to rise to the top. Most of the rest of Mr Clarke's work is something I am finally able to listen to again -- up to and including "Only You" -- but the extra chocolate caramel frosting part nowadays is that I can listen to it again without crying. :)

Sometimes I still cry. I cry for feeling so very stupid.

I'm honestly not sure I technically even had working brain cells six months ago. I was -that- fucking stupid.

Sometimes the angry helplessness still takes over -- because the Erasure impostor is still at large, and nobody in a position of any authority who has received his name from me and from others, has done anything to stop him yet.

But most of the time -- I think about the new friendships, the absolutely unrestricted and sometimes overwhelming love and affection and acceptance bestowed upon me by those new friends -- the healing, and the strength, and the fact that my work here and over on AOL may be keeping others from falling victim to online sociopaths, and I realize that if just -one person- is spared the atrocities and the enforced disassociation and the fright and the abject horror and the trauma and the feelings of helplessness that the impostor put me through? -- then baring my soul here has been worth it.

---

I was talking to Paul the other night -- we're trying to get the details of my trip to SLC worked out -- and he said that what Richard Bach says is true, and he reminded me to think about it more often than I do. "Life will take care of you, if you let it."

---

John is home from work today. He's having vision problems. "I can't see going into work today," he said. So he's called in, and he's back in bed.

---

And finally -- Jamie is getting two things from me for his birthday this coming Monday the 28th. As soon as I figure out how to mail the one gift to him safely, out the door it goes. The other one is a virtual gift. Have fun puzzling, Jamie. "Better Not Tell You Now"... :)

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.