Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

FRIDAY FIVE August 8 / Moose & Squirrel

Friday, Aug. 08, 2003 - 1:20 a.m.

This week's Friday Five: (Questions are boldface, my answers appear beneath.)

What's the last place you traveled to, outside your own home state/country?

A: Out of country: Banff Springs, Alberta in 1989. Out of state: Columbus Day in 1991, to Reno, to get married.

What's the most bizarre/unusual thing that's ever happened to you while traveling?

A: A Canadian border guard demolished the truck my second husband and I were travelling in, because he suspected we had guns. The fact that we were wearing black leather jackets and welding-glass black sunglasses and had the Sex Pistols' version of 'God Save The Queen' on the sound system probably didn't help matters much. Also, once there was a guy sitting next to me on the Greyhound Bus about twenty years ago; when he thought our 'conversation' dried up (I had stuck buds in my ears and begun listening to my radio), he pulled out a harmonica and began playing 'Scarf Dance'. Fortunately, the bus driver, being the merciful soul that he was, got on the intercom and told my seat-mate to put that goddamned thing away or it was getting thrown out of the window. He was a pretty good player, though.

If you could take off to anywhere, money and time being no object, where would you go?

A: I would take a cruise from SF to Hawaii to Australia and then back up around to Europe and then over to New York and then take the Amtrak back across the USA to San Francisco. I guess I would be gone a long time, too, huh?

Do you prefer traveling by plane, train or car?

A: A private car is always the best, of course. I don't like flying.

What's the next place on your list to visit?

A: I'm going to Utah in the first week of September by train.

---

Okay. Now, if you wanna play Friday Five, go here.

---

Now Here's Something We Hope You'll Really Like: Run, do not walk, to your nearest DVD store and purchase the first season of the Rocky and Bullwinkle show. The one in our house was purchased at Target for $24.95. This boxed set is nothing short of stunning; the clarity of the sound and the images is like nothing you ever saw on the tee and vee when you were growing up; the extras are wonderful, and the wit and classic barbs are just as biting and ironically relevant as they ever were. Do not miss this.

---

Carb-free seems to be working; I'm less puffy, and in ketosis -- and we have Splenda in the house, which is a sugar substitute that doesn't have that gawdaful aftertaste that Equal has -- but oh GOD. I have such cravings right now. I keep having the odd urge to sneak over to the kitchen area and drink a shot glass full of Crisco oil.

---

And finally -- good news. My trip to Utah is back on, and the dates have been set. Yay!

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.