Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

When The River Meets The Sea

Thursday, Oct. 02, 2003 - 12:27 a.m.

UPDATE UPDATE UPDATE

Updated at 5:00 pm PDT, folks, it's at the bottom again

---

So I called my brother Wednesday night at dinner time. Gran is resting as comfortably as possible. Her respiration is diminishing, and she is less and less lucid, and she's basically going to be leaving any moment now. Jon said that if I wanted happy memories of her for me to please -not- come see her off.

I asked if that was okay with him, and he said he preferred it that way for my sake.

My brother is shouldering something that no man ever should for me. I love you, Jon.

---

After I finished talking with my brother, I logged on to AIM. I had a very nice conversation with Scott Hysmith, and ironically enough, across our time zones, it turned out that I was also the -last- person to wish him Happy Birthday on the actual day. He'd lost grandparents, and gave me encouragement along the lines of being sure to mourn in my own way.

I think I knew this, but to have a good friend put voice to it was special.

Then way later, around eleven my time, I IMed with P@ul Schu!tz. I had emailed him earlier about Gran. He said he liked the photo album that I sent him of my visit. One of the things I enclosed was the words to the Cure song 'Lovesong', because it was the song that was playing on the radio when he was driving me to the bus station to go home. Paul darn well knows this, so I asked him if he'd found the song lyrics I'd placed in the back of the photo album, and he wrote "Yeah! What was that song again? 'Grandma Got Run Over By A Reindeer'?"...

Now think carefully about this, people.

Of -all- the songs in the universe, THIS friend -- whom I hold in such high esteem that I went sixteen hundred miles round trip on a Greyhound bus to meet -- THIS friend mentions to me the -only song in existence- that happens to be about a DEAD GRANDMOTHER.

I pointed this out to him and naturally he fell all over himself. "OH SHIT! OH SHIT!!" he IMed. "THAT WAS A FAUX PAS!!!"

Poor Paul. I knew he would have -never- done that on purpose. He's too good a guy.

But somehow, coming from Paul, knowing the kind of person he is makes it less of an issue. I think everything happens for a reason. If I cannot take a deep breath and keep laughing and get it through my head that life will go on, then something is wrong somewhere. P@ul Schu!tz has taken it upon himself to make sure I've done that ever since February.

So when he mentioned that song, and I pointed it out to him, and he reacted the way he did? ... I laughed my ass off, and believe me, that's still a BIG job.

Everybody is invited to keep their comments about my ass to themselves, thank you.

Anyway, -then- I checked my email. And I found this waiting for me from Scott Hysmith, and when I read what was there, I laughed until I woke up my beloved husband. John saw it, and laughed and said to forward it to him at work. All Lord Of The Rings fans -must- look.

---

My muse ran away. I was working on some music when I got the news about my grandmother. My muse stubbed out its ciggy and adjusted its overalls and stood up and just walked the fuck out.

Some days the piano is the womb, and other days it's the Shit Demon from Dogma. Everybody looks at the tools of their expression like this; the graphic artist at the blank page, or the cook at the empty pans, or the programmer at the problem that needs solving.

Right now, the piano isn't anything but a piece of furniture under a dust cloth -- but I swear by all I hold holy, that I'm going to go back and finished what I started. And I'm going to do it soon.

---

On top of all this, the chorus to the Monkees song "Papa Gene's Blues" is stuck in my head...

I have no more than I did before
But now I've got all that I need...
For I love you and I know you love me.

---

UPDATE UPDATE UPDATE

Beloved friends, it's 1:45 pm. My brother just called me. She's got about an hour left. I will update more when I know more. For now, I'll clear the line, because I have to wait for the telephone to ring once more.

Thank you for your loving wishes. I'll be back when... well... I'll be back.

---

UPDATE UPDATE UPDATE #2

It's now just after 5:00 pm. Gran is stable, and as of this writing, it now actually looks as if she's going to live through the night. Thanks for wanting to know. :) Unless something happens in the next three hours, I'm done for the day. I'll be back tomorrow shortly after nine in the morning.

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.