Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

Imagine No Possessions

Thursday, Oct. 09, 2003 - 7:38 a.m.

Today is John Lennon's birthday. He would have been sixty-three.

---

My beleagured brother has received all too many inquiries about the disposition of Gran's belongings. A couple of people in the neighborhood have told him how -nice- her car is and -how much fun- they had taking care of it for her. I'm going to make a point of taking a picture of that car to show you what kind of shape it's in right now. Taking care of it, my spotty fat ass... Anyway, after what happened while she was in the hospital for the last time -- namely the thefts of the belongings and the cash by somebody who had a key -- I'm not inclined to talk to anybody about anything regarding her stuff.

Jon's been referring all comers to me, because I happen to be the executor.

I haven't heard from anybody from up there yet -- I guess they're having a hard time reaching me on the telephone or something.

What a pity.

Wait until she's in the ground, please.

And kindly stay the heck out of the house unless somebody's there with you.

---

I spoke at length with my sister-in-law Shelley yesterday afternoon. She and Jon have both been nothing short of amazing through all of this, and I could not have chosen more wonderful family members if I'd been able to.

I think it's going to be a good sendoff, and I'm less afraid than I was.

---

I don't have sleeping sickness -- but I think I'm a carrier.

I had a lovely conversation with Dan Weissman last night -- and after I repeatedly said "Well, hey, let me let you get to sleep," and having him refuse to hang up because he wanted to keep talking...he fell asleep anyway.

Now, I -could- be insulted by this, or I could be worried. But I'm neither.

There has to be a -huge- comfort zone between friends if one of them can dink out while speaking to the other. Brian fell asleep over here in my reclining chair a couple of Sundays ago -- which I shared with the world via webcam -- Paul has dozed off on me twice on the phone and once in person; Scott catnapped on me for a goodly stretch once immediately after Hurricane Isabel due to his intake of several shots of very good scotch; now Dan's on this list as well.

Dan and I have been friends since 1978. When we met on July Fourth of that year, I was thirteen and he was sixteen. For lack of a better phrase, we grew up together. I almost sent him a Silver Anniversary card, but I couldn't find one that said anything appropriate. My parents couldn't stand him too much because he was The Guy Who Made Me Think. He made me see that they weren't infallible. I think if I had to list two non-family members whom I knew prior to the age of eighteen who influenced me the most, I would have to list my radio & television broadcasting teacher, Jay Norton, and I'd list Dan Weissman.

---

I've no idea what tomorrow will bring. I'm just going to go there and hit my marks and nod and smile and try to find the enjoyment wherever it's hiding; though the circumstances are sad, it will still be good to see so many family members there. I'm looking forward to seeing cousin Bobby; I had a crush on him when I was six and he was seventeen. My husband John is eleven years older than I am, so I guess it's true what they say about those patterns getting set early.

---

Wish me luck tomorrow. I'll be bringing the tissues from Cheri, a rock from Paul's son, pictures of all of my friends, and their love from across the miles. And that's why I know I'll be fine. :)

---

Here. I just wrote this:

Gum on my shoe sole and losing at Yahtzee
Folks who imply that our Governor's a Nazi
Ill-informed people who think past their means
These are a few of my least favorite things...

If anybody wants to help me write the rest of this, get in touch. I voted for Arnold Schwarzenegger, and I'm proud of doing so.

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.