Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

Leg Pulling

Saturday, Nov. 15, 2003 - 4:20 a.m.

Shelley, my sister-in-law, who hits the big THREE OH on Sunday, managed somehow to poison herself in the last day or so.

There's a brand of flea collar out there that is activated by pulling on the collar -- and after she pulled it, and installed it around the neck of the intended pet, she forgot, and reached up to her neck and scratched a mosquito bite. That night, she began vomiting, and as of last evening, she and my brother were heading to the emergency room if there was no improvement by sunup today. Gughgh. I hope she feels better soon.

Happy fucking birthday.

---

I bought myself a weensie beensie stocking-stuffer-sized little bottle of Drakkar Noir yesterday. Jamie had repeatedly assured me that this would be an acceptable replacement for Old Spice whenever John finally got tired of that -- and then Paul had it on when he met me at the bus, and it's been imprinted on me ever since.

I tried it on myself -- and have enjoyed the dry down, and been very impressed. It seems to improve as the hours tick by. I'm very happy with the purchase; most perfumes and colognes I ever try to wear end up making me smell like a box of Frosted Flakes, but Drakkar Noir is really nice.

I'd also put a small amount on John -- who was initially very pleased, but then the dry down drove him crazy, and he began to sneeze. The sneezing began shortly after I returned a phone call from Paul. I told him John was sneezing, and Paul said "Tell him that's probably a reaction to the pig semen."

"Pig semen," I said. "Yeah," said Paul. "That's like, the base for the fragrance."

"Oh, bullshit, Paul. You're pulling my leg."

"Well, yeah," he said. "I honestly have no idea what's in that stuff. Go tell that to John anyway."

"Oh, Paul. I don't know. I'll flip you for it."

So I went into the bedroom where John was lying down. This particular night, John wasn't just lying down, he was in traction. He's got malformed hips, and as a result, his hip joints have begun to deteriorate, so to alleviate his pain and keep his leg muscles from atrophying, he spends several nights a week wrapped up in a velcro contraption with a ten-pound weight dangling from each leg. I help him in and help him out of this doohickey, and between putting it on and taking it off, he must spend at least twenty-five minutes laying on his back, with the weights draped down off of the foot of the bed.

"Honey?" I said. "Paul says the reason you might be sneezing is because of the pig semen in the cologne."

John looked at me for a moment. "Whaaaaaat? ... did you say 'pig semen'...?"

Then I began laughing and fucked it all up. "No," I said, wiping my eyes, "That was a ribbing courtesy of Paul. That means he likes you."

But the look on John's face -- for that nanosecond -- was indescribable.

At this juncture, I honestly don't know why either of these men are still speaking to me.

But I'm learning not to question miracles.

---

Some of the worst pain inflicted on me this year came from places it never should have.

On the other hand, the nicest things have come from the least likely sources.

There's been surprises around every corner, and despite some setbacks, I still have optimism that I will find my way through this extremely peculiar thing called life.

And when I say that, my friends ... I'm not pulling your leg. :)

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.