Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

Appetite Control

Wednesday, Feb. 18, 2004 - 2:25 a.m.

Day Three.

I can't have potatoes. I can't have bread, or pasta, or cookies, or crackers. They are all starches.

I had to hide the Ritz crackers and the chocolate.

Yesterday's food:

Breakfast: cup of tea with Splenda, and one tablespoon of taco meat mixed in to one scrambled egg. Two large glasses of water.

Lunch: three chicken fingers with most of the breading scraped off, and five small slices of habanero jack cheese. I had a Diet Coke with this.

I called the diet guy and asked what's the safest way to eat pizza for somebody that was trying to lose weight. He said to scrape the tops off and discard the crusts. So, dinner was the tops scraped off of four pieces of pizza. There's not a lot left after you throw away the crusts -- but it felt evil and wonderful to eat a pile of melted cheese and pepperoni and garlic. I had more Diet Coke.

A snack was a half dozen slices of Italian Dry Salami.

Dessert was a blend of cherry and strawberry fat free sugar free Jello gelatin.

Lots of water, and lots of chewing gum.

And lots of longing looks at the unfinished bag of Sweethearts that I haven't finished reading yet.

---

There was a chunk of programming on TVLAND last night that totally blew me away. There was a four hour block of shows that had been created by Sid and Marty Krofft.

Among other things, there was an episode each of "Electra Woman and Dyna Girl", which featured a very young and very gorgeous Deidre Hall; "Lidsville," which featured a taller and older and early-70s-foxy looking Butch Patrick trying to escape from a land full of giant hats; "The Bugaloos", which consisted of four shagadelic young Brits wearing wings; "HR Pufnstuf," which featured a big foam rubber dragon and a witch and god only knows what the hell else; "Land Of The Lost", which was a live action / stop motion animation science fiction series that looked as if it took about twelve dollars to produce -- and the final thing we viewers were treated to was a video production of Sid and Marty Krofft, Live at the Hollywood Bowl. This whirlwind of foam rubber excitement featured performers from most of the aforementioned shows, plus the extra delights of those platinum selling superstars, The Brady Bunch Kids, (appearing courtesy of Don Kirshner) and Johnny Whitaker.

What a hunk of shit. Of COURSE I taped it.

---

Earlier in the evening, I spoke with Cheri in what seemed like the first time in months. She's doing really well.

Love ya, baby girl! Can't wait to meet you!!

---

Dave Marron called and told me Jan Miner died. She was 86. I don't know who out there will recognize her by name -- maybe mostly nobody. But Dave and I know her as Madge the Manicurist in the Palmolive commercials. She played the character for 27 years. She made the Palmolive commercials in French, German, Danish and Italian. Ms. Miner once said "I'd dip my hands in Palmolive the rest of my life,", because it left her free to pick and choose where she wanted to work.

This obituary brought to you by Growing Older Really Sucks.

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.