Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

Retail Therapy

Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2004 - 2:00 a.m.

So. Some of the fundage I refer to as 'Gran Money' has finally made its way here, in the form of a cashiers' check from my brother for his share of five months rent of her house.

And hooray -- it's here just in time.

Time. Time for retail therapy. Yayyy!...

---

Monday night, John and I went to Bed, Bath, & Beyond, to get some new towels before Cheri gets here. We just sort of looked around at the mishmash and looked at the towels themselves and realized that a bunch of them had stains from hair dye or mildew or Insert Deity Of Choice Here If Applicable only knows what else, and it was time to get replacements.

A small personal fan also nabbed us before we left there, along with several Yankee Candles.

Tuesday, I spent the late morning clipping tags off of the new towels, and visiting with Dave Marron over our customary breakfast. He broke with tradition and instead of eggs, he availed himself of Thompson Seedless Grapes, because he loves them so much, and buys them whenever they are on sale. I still had my egg. So I heard the nice crisp crunch crunch of him biting into fresh grapes.

Late Tuesday afternoon, I finally tackled a chore I didn't want to do -- I scrubbed the kitchen floor. Mind you, it's only something like nine square feet of linoleum tiles, but it's always a big job to get it really really clean. It was made easier by being on the phone with Kat in Philly! I hadn't gone voice with her in about a month, so it was sweet to hear her voice.

It was another hot day here in San Francisco -- well, hot for the time of year, anyway -- so by the time I was done with the floor, I was pretty ripe, so I went and stood in the rain locker. After that, John had gotten home from work, and I just suddenly started jonesing for something I hadn't had in over a year.

New underwear.

I don't know what came over me.

I just -had- to buy a package of panties. HAD to.

Ladies, you just know. When the urge hits, nothing else will satisfy. 42 different kinds of chocolate in reach, but nope. Must have nice skivvies in order to be able to face the rest of the world.

I asked John to please please take me to the nearest K-Mart where I knew they had my size at a reasonable price. We ambled through the park, and around the campus and up on to the freeway, and over through the underpass and past the toy store and the Saturn dealership and down the hill past the import store to the K-Mart in Colma -- and when we got there, we found it was gone! The building was there, but it was black, and surrounded by a fence.

We turned around and went back up the hill to Tar Zhay, where I found the frilly thangs I had sought -- and John purchased a DVD for me as an early birthday gift -- Whale Rider.

We stopped at the grocery store for ground beef -- and John bought me a bouquet of miniature roses that are lovely -- then came home, I finally made dinner (Salisbury steaks) and sat up late online goofing around with my brother until I made this post early Wednesday morning.

---

Tonight, John gets to go to the chiropractor and get his back and hips worked on. He always feels so much better after his appointment, but I always worry until he gets home, because he's usually gone until at least eight on the nights when he goes to Oakland and gets worked on. Be safe, my dearest one. I love you.

And thanks again for the retail therapy. :)

---

It's the wee hours.

I can hear the ocean.

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.