Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

KEANE Tonight! / Weighing In

Tuesday, Sept. 21, 2004 - 7:44 a.m.

Tonight, Keane will be on VH1.

I'm all set with a brand new never used before VHS video tape.

Yes, I still use that thing called a VCR.

In fact, there's a new version of this VCR sitting in a box waiting to be installed in the new and improved entertainment center we're going to purchase when my inheritance gets here.

---

Anyway: From the US Keane website:

Keane at Tower in Philly
WXPN will be hosting a special in-store performance by Keane at Tower Records on Monday 9/27/04. The event will start at 6:30pm sharp.

Tower Records - 9/27/04
Ave of the Arts
100 S. Broad Street
Philadelphia, PA
215-568-8001

So go see em.

---

Finally, Fergie weighs in --

AMHERST, N.Y. (AP) - Sarah Ferguson is happy to travel the country waving the Weight Watchers flag, but says the government needs to do its part to combat obesity.

Ferguson led more than 700 Weight Watchers faithful in a rousing ``super meeting'' Monday as part of an eight-city tour for the weight-loss group. Afterward, she said membership to such support-based systems should be covered by Medicare or Medicaid.

This is the most astounding thing I have heard in a very long time.

Yeah, let's give corporations yet another opportunity to defraud the government. And the fact that corporations exist to exploit people who are obese also sickens me. It makes overweight people think they can't lose weight unless their product or organization is included in their lives.

This is total bullshit. You can lose weight WITH or WITHOUT the assistance of a corporation.

Personally, I have done it without. Your mileage may vary. I have had one person to help get me started, namely P@ul Schu!tz, but even he kept saying 'Do this for yourself.' And I have.

The truth is, about one in ten thousand of the overweight people in this country have a glandular problem that causes the extra weight.

The rest of us (yes, I am still on the list; I weighed 201 when I woke up this morning) have gained weight because we have deliberately chosen -- over and over again -- to ingest more calories than we burn off.

For fuck's sake, we must stop trying to foist another of our self-induced health problems off onto the government.

The government already does PLENTY for people who are obese. They're called NUTRITION LABELS. You read those things, and you decide whether or not to purchase that food. They're right there on the outside where you can read before you buy.

Until I read my labels, I had no idea that a container of macaroni and cheese contained five servings. That's fifteen hundred calories in ONE box of this stuff. And the various things labeled 'fat free'? That shit will kill you. The manufacturers of such things have simply replaced the oils with corn syrup and added enough extra sodium to neutralize the sweet flavor. Look at a fat free bottle of salad dressing sometime and see the extra carbohydrates and huge amounts of sodium. That's far worse for you than any regular bottle of dressing ever could be.

You can CHOOSE to eat that pizza, or not. You CHOOSE to load up on a big sugary tankard of caramel cinnamon whatever latte at Starfucks.

EVERY food decision you make is a CHOICE.

There's no such thing as an uncontrollable eating binge.

Mind you, I am by no means perfect. But I've got my indulgences built into my diet.

I still eat peanut butter straight out of the jar, but in moderation. :-)

I am by no means saying that organizations like Weight Watchers and TOPS and Jenny Craig are useless, because some people do function better in a group support situation. But I'm saying the option to do it yourself is viable and effective, and to not let the corporate weight loss centers try and brainwash you into thinking otherwise.

---

Anyway, enough blathering. Have a good day, and don't forget to watch KEANE tonight on VH1.

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.