Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

Brian & The Sea

Sunday, Apr. 24, 2005 - 9:51 a.m.

Yesterday afternoon, I was just about to let my allergy meds have their way with me. I'd gotten into my jammies, and settled down in bed, and told John I would be awake again at six -- and my cell phone rang at four-thirty in the afternoon.

It was Br1@n Cl@yt0n. And he had news.

He's leaving San Francisco in a few more weeks, to move in with the woman he loves. They live too far apart and miss one another too much during the week, and this is just a tremendous leap of faith for him. Her two daughters love him, too.

I don't think there are words in English for how brave I think he is.

The long and the short of it is that if he's certain he'll be happier doing this than not doing this, then he shall go forth and be happy.

Upon hearing his news, I told Brian to come get me, that I would wake up fully, and we'd go to dinner and he could tell me all about it.

---

I got up out of bed. I drank a great big glass of Diet Coke. My husband gave me a B Complex and very lovingly helped me dress and shove me out the door. I think he wanted down time, and I was happy to provide that.

I waited out in the front of the building. And for what is probably the last time, Brian drove up and I hopped in.

He asked where I wanted to go for dinner, and I requested Denny's in Pacifica, because the drive was so pretty.

---

We drove and talked. As I listened to him, I became less worried. He sounded not a hundred percent sure of anything, which is probably one of the few times I've heard him sound like that -- but for him, believe it or not, that's a huge step. I said "I gotta tell you, I really get the jitters every time I say goodbye to friends who move away. I've never seen any of them again. Best laid plans, yadda yadda..." and he said "I hope you're not lumping me in with everybody else; if I say I'll be back again, I will. Don't worry."

---

We went to Denny's in Pacifica. I walked in, hoping to see one of the new faces -- and there was Caryn. She was still there. She seated us, and I said "John's at home watching a movie; here's Brian." Caryn smiled and asked me about vacation. I declared that I was sunburned and bankrupt, but that I had a great time. She asked which rides I went on, and took our order. Brian had brought a package with him and given it to me, which was a complete surprise; it was a beautiful sculpture that doubled as an essential oil warmer. He figured that since I almost always had eleventy skillion tea candles on the premises, this burner would last me a lifetime.

---

After dinner, we did something we hadn't done in a long time. We found someplace scenic and just walked around. The last time I had done anything like that with it being just the two of us, I weighed around 300 lbs and was short of breath. This time around, I was even able to swing a leg over the fence and walk where we probably weren't supposed to. Brian had to spot me during my leg swingover so I wouldn't tumble down the cliff to my death, and we walked down to the trees.

It made for a couple of nice pictures:

The trees were so nice, up against the sky and the sea, but the sunset itself was also wonderful:

And I think maybe the last picture of just the two of us for awhile:

But at last it got cold enough to chase us back into the car, and we went to his place for a pit stop, and then he drove me home.

---

There were tears shed. Mostly happy. I think a few scary ones, too, though. Change is always a big deal, even good changes.

I thanked him for finding me. First in 1996, when he moved to San Francisco... And again in 2003 when I had the problems with the impostor. I thanked him for all that time he spent listening to me decompress, and for all that time he spent troubleshooting.

BC, I'm sorry if I got snot on that shirt.

---

So I got home, and told John that Caryn said hieeeee, and that it was nice of him to let me go visit with Brian, and that even though it's nerve-wracking all around, BC really wants to give things a try with Shani and the kids, and that as long as he was happy, I'd be happy for him.

I think he'll be all right.

And I guess if either of us gets into a pickle that only the other can fix, we know where to find each other.

---

So that was my Saturday.

See ya tomorrow!

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.