Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Springtime For Someone
Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2018
Antlers
Monday, Dec. 18, 2017
Confessions Of A Pack Rat
Thursday, Sept. 28, 2017
More Threes
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017
Bindyree's Threes
Tuesday, Apr. 11, 2017


This is my safe space

This is where I post, where I dream,
where I hurt, and where I recover.

Everybody who understands this
is welcome to stay.


Why is this here?


Extras, Fun Stuff &
Recommended Reading

42 Things About Me
Erasure Impostor Info
More Stuff About Me
I Love You
My Friday Five Archive
Friday Five v2.0
The Daily Meme
ACME Heartmaker
Citizen Redress
Maukie
Teddy Bears
Keane Concert Pics
Wikipedia
Paul Kidd on Kindle


I Can Hear The Ocean.

A proud member of
the Diaryland family
for over a tenth
of a century.


Follow me on Twitter!


Always go too far
because that's where
you'll find the truth.

Albert Camus


My First Tattoo


Mom

Becks And Bonds

Friday, Jan. 12, 2007 - 12:40 a.m.

I'm reading where David Beckham has signed a five year deal with the Los Angeles Galaxy for a quarter of a billion dollars.

Well, he's definitely pretty; I guess he's probably one of the only international male soccer stars that most Americans actually stand a chance of recognizing.

Although I gotta tell you, I was very crushy about Fabien Barthez. He's kind of unforgettable.

So, Beckham bends to the West.

---

And I see where the story says Barry Bonds failed a drug screening for amphetamines.

Um, kids, I think I recall saying something about his reluctance to give a little of himself some years back.

Why look -- here it is.

As for the present day, here's the story:

The Giants said Thursday they had not known Barry Bonds tested positive for amphetamines last year, although a major-league source told The Chronicle that the Giants outfielder spoke about it with several people on the team at the time.

Bonds initially blamed the positive test, first reported by the New York Daily News, on a substance he had taken from the locker of teammate Mark Sweeney.

"Barry is the guy who went around telling everybody he tested positive," said the source, who requested anonymity because of the confidentiality issues surrounding drug testing.

The source said Bonds tested positive for the stimulant after the All-Star break. At that time, Bonds' former trainer, Greg Anderson, was fighting to stay out of jail for refusing to answer questions from a federal grand jury investigating whether Bonds perjured himself when testifying that he had never used steroids.

Sweeney's agent, Barry Axelrod, said during a phone interview Thursday that his client had been dragged into the Bonds situation but that Sweeney played no part in the positive test.

"Mark hasn't given anything to anybody, and he didn't have anything," Axelrod said.

Bonds released a statement Thursday describing Sweeney as a teammate and friend who had "nothing to do this with matter." Bonds added, "I want to express my deepest apologies especially to Mark and his family, as well as my other teammates, the San Francisco Giants organization and the fans."

Last season marked the first time baseball tested players for amphetamines, drugs whose use had been widespread in the game for years. Unlike the game's amped-up steroids policy, which calls for players to be banned 50 games for a positive test, players are referred for treatment or counseling the first time they are caught using a stimulant. They also are subject to six additional unannounced tests over the next 12 months and can be subject to other unannounced testing after that.

The policy does not require that the team be notified of a player's first positive test for amphetamines, according to an MLB spokesman.

Wednesday night was "the first time we heard of this recent accusation against Barry Bonds," read a statement issued by the Giants on Thursday afternoon.

My take: Despite the fact that Bonds came up dirty, he's in all likelihood cleaned up his act since then, and the Giants are going to treat him with kid gloves and keep him on the team until they have to cart him around the bases in a wheelchair. He's just too close to the all-time home run record for them to do otherwise.

---

And finally because I haven't in awhile... A Friday Five! On FRIDAY!

Favorite cereal and why?

Lucky Charms, because they are absolutely mercilessly sweet. I have to 'cut' them with Cheerios, sometimes. I still miss Croonchy Stars, though!

What is the best thing about summer?

It's always happening somewhere. When I'm cold, like I am now, I like to tune in to Auckland or Brisbane and listen to the summer weather reports and activities.

Would you rather have a slurpee or a milkshake?

Milkshake. You can add stuff to it, like Oreos n things.

If you could be a member of any band/musical group, past or present, what band would it be and why?

I'm happy being an occasional guest vocalist for the Bob Chance Band at present.

Who is your idol? What are they famous for?

I like what Steve Irwin did.

Okay, if you want to play, the link is to the left.

---

That's it. Have a good Friday!

---

what you missed - what's next - leave a note
first post - cast page - diaryrings - top ten

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2003-infinity by Brin Marie McLaughlin. Steal my stuff and I'll squash you like a bug. All incoming email or any other form of communication with me is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for this space. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous input will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. Whenever there is a comments section appearing in this diary, it's to be considered part of my paid presence on the web, and shall be used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevant information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your visit to my diary along with your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. All external links are current as of the date of the entry in which they are first featured, but at no other time. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine. Hold hands when you cross the street, and play nice.